Over-cautious? and keyloggers

sidd

I'm a newbie here and relatively a non-techie, but very concerned about Windows security and so would greatly appreciate any feedback and evaluation explained in layman's terms.

I'm operating on Windows 2000, professional version, which came installed on my laptop. I currently run CCleaner after I finish each of my sessions on the web (I sort of consider it analogous to washing my hands after using the bathroom). My main web browser (used 90% of the time) is Firefox (I will also use Opera and Mozilla before resorting to IE). I currently have Sunbelt Kerio personal firewall (paid version) running, plus my ISP's modem also has a firewall. My anit-virus software is AVG (free version). And finally I have three anti-spy software programs running: Webroot Spy Sweeper, Spybot Search and Destroy, and AdAware SE - I make a scan on each of these about once a week.

Before I installed CCleaner, my anti-spy scans would come up with a moderate amount of finds (usually cookies), but after I started using CCleaner, my antip-spy scans usually comes up with nothing at all. I'm a little concerned that since I know CCleaner isn't meant to be an anti-virus or anti-spy program, might there be something wrong with the anti-spy programs themselves, could they be affected by CCleaner or something else (I do make sure to update these programs on a regular basis)? I'm consistently coming up with a clean slate on each scan and I'm a little wary about that

So after all that, I'm wondering if any experts out there could tell me if they think I'm being over-cautious, or not cautious enough.

I'm also wondering about keyloggers - is there any simple, efficient way to detect and remove keyloggers from my system? (I wouldn't even know how to tell if there were any intursions in the first place.) I'm on a private personal laptop, and there should be no reason for anyone to be monitoring my keystrokes.