2844 entries for Invalid Firewall Rule (never saw that before)

David12846

I've been using CCleaner for many years. I'm on version 5.58.7209.

A few weeks ago when I had a previous version, the "Registry Cleaner" showed pages and pages of entries for "Invalid Firewall Rule". I thought maybe there was a bug in CCleaner but my new version is showing 2844 entries for "Invalid Firewall Rule". The Registry Key for ALL of them says: "HKLM\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules". Another thread mentioned they were the result of previously installed software. I looked through the list and many of the entries are for software I still have installed.

I'm a bit concerned with removing this many entries in my Registry, especially since it appears not too many people have asked about this type of entry considering (at least for me) these entries only started appearing within the last few months.

David

Using Windows 7 Home Premium.

• Moderators

It is probably due to a Windows update. (There have been quite a few in the last month or so).

I've just updated my Win 10 to 1903 and following the update CCleaner showed hundreds of 'issues' in the registry (including many firewall rules).

I left it alone and just looking again now CCleaner is only showing 50 or so 'issues'.
Obviously Windows has been cleaning itself up in the meantime.

I'd just leave them alone, it won't make any difference to your computers performance, and Windows will probably cleanup what is not needed when it gets around to it.

In fact don't run the registry cleaner at all, Microsoft themselves recommend that you don't use any registry cleaner.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/2563254/microsoft-support-policy-for-the-use-of-registry-cleaning-utilities

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***

Worried about 'Tracking Files'? Worried about why some files come back after cleaning? See this link: