Identical problem each time i scan for issues

I am a relative novice with CC and need some help and advice. I am running W98SE, IE6 and have just updated to CC1.30.310. Also run regularly AdAware, SpyBlaster, AVG, SpyBot, CWShredder and ZoneAlarms.

Every time I "scan for issues" with all boxes checked under Registry and File Integrity, I have one identical problem (see details below). I click to save the registry, then click to allow the problem to be fixed and each time it says that issue is fixed by deleting the registry value. Following reboot, if I "scan for issues", it reports exactly the same problem.

Problem: ActiveX/COM Issue

Data: HeaderFooter.HeaderFooter.1-{30c3f6cd-98b5-11cf-bb82-00aa00bdce0b}

Registry Key: HKCR\HeaderFooter.HeaderFooter.1

I do have a very occasional and separate problem with IE6 crashing, and this error message points to another Active X file ddraw.dll.

Can anyone explain what this is all about and what I should be doing to rid myself of this nuisance?

Thanks

Flusters

Thanks so much for your expertise but I am not clear.

I downloaded the DAF medium version, clicked the exe file, then Tools. There are two items shown - Back up Registry and Repair/reinstall IE. I clicked the second item but the Repair/reinstall IE would not work because the log.txt file could not be found.

I know that I will probably look very stupid but I could not see a separate button under Tools called "Repair Permissions". I am running W98SE and IE6.

What am I doing wrong?

Flusters

Oh geez, I didn't even see the part where you said you are using Win98. My post was a reflex, sorry. Uh... well, since Windows 98 doesn't set permissions in the registry, then Dial-a-fix will not help you do anything, so, sorry about mentioning it. It would have shown up where you were, had you been running 2k/XP.

I don't know the answer at all.

Click here if CCleaner Issues are re-appearing

DjLizard.net

DjLizard.net wiki

Dial-a-fix

Dial-a-fix tips