HELP! CCleaner Changed ALL Text to Gibberish!

So I've never used one of these cleaners before, and I've had my new computer for about 3 months, and CCleaner found about 1500 problems. So I told it to fix them, and then I restarted my computer. Why I restarted, all the text on my computer had been changed to gibberish. Even the blue welcome screen was in gibberish. The word "start" on the start menu was in gibberish. What's going on??

Hello and welcome :)

Gosh that is not good. I'm not really sure where to start with this one to be honest. Can you start with giving some more information and a screen shot?

Did you make a backup of the changes?

What OS are you running?

What version of CCleaner are you using?

Can you post a screenshot so that we can see what you are talking about?

Have you installed anything else recently?

Thanks,

K

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

Well, I saved the registry info just in case something horrible happened, so I have since merged it back in, restarted, and fixed that problem, but my filthy registry remained. What I have done to remedy the problem is simply uncheck "Fonts" on the registry clean tool when cleaning it. Cleaning my fonts, for some reason, meant deleting all of them and leaving nothing but Wingdings.

I'm running Windows XP Professional and using CCleaner v1.30.310. I don't have a screenshot and I'd prefer not to repeat it, but if you have anymore advice I'd be glad to hear it. Beyond that, if it happens again in the near future, I'll get you your screenshot :) (I was surprised to see the word START on the button in the corner was actually part of the fonts, I figured it was just a picture of the text...but nope)

• Moderators