Jump to content
Piriform Community Forums
tbs2018

Are my files recovered securely?

Recommended Posts

Hi,

This might seem like a silly question, I don't know. I'd just like to make sure before using Recuva that once I have recovered the files that I'm looking for, it is only I who is able to view or have access to these files? i.e. They are not accessible by Piriform/Recuva or any third parties?

Regards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you recover a file the clusters of that file are copied to whatever location you specify. The deleted clusters can still be accessed by Recuva or other software. To get rid of the deleted clusters (in Recuva) you can highlight the deleted file, right click and select secure overwrite. If that is what you are asking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I'm not sure I was that clear in what I was asking. What I'm wondering is if the files are physically viewable by others once I've used the software? I have some confidential files that I'm looking to recover and I don't want to use Recuva if it's possible that this information is viewable by anybody other than myself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The files you recover will be like any other file.  No third parties or second party receive copies of your file, Only you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×