Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums
Guardian

Still Checking for Updates When the Option is Unset

Recommended Posts

Even though I have turned off the option to check for updates, CCUpdate.exe is still making internet connections, why is this?

This is directly against the asserted user choice to NOT CHECK and so it begs the question: what else is it doing under the guise of checking for update that it was expressly told not to do?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ccupdate only checks for security builds.  This was instated to aleliviate situations like the one caused by the hacked version that made it out at the end of last year.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
28 minutes ago, Nergal said:

Ccupdate only checks for security builds.  This was instated to aleliviate situations like the one caused by the hacked version that made it out at the end of last year.

Ok, thanks for that and I understand why they might be motivated to do this, but to do it without telling the user and ignoring their choice to NOT have it done feels even worse.

This behaves like you have check for update AND do it silently checked, which regardless of their intent is counter to the user's express intent. If anything counter to the option must happen for whatever reason, then they should pop up saying, would you like to check for a security update (independent of the options set already which they are clearly ignoring) or we are about to check for a security update, with an ok/cancel or whatnot.

Ultimately the decision should be users' and not decided behind the scene. This feels a lot like the cure being as intrusive as the disease. Can you do me one more favor and point me to where they disclosed this behavior? I must have missed it. Thank you in advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/18/2018 at 13:30, Nergal said:

It was in the changelog for v5.36.6278 (24 Oct 2017)

https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/version-history

Thank you, I always read the changelog but I didn't see this, probably because of a later update that skipped that one.

I still feel this is the wrong approach but then again no way to be heard by the developers and they always make unilateral decisions anyway and not responsive to users feedback.

So we are back to self correcting by removing what they inject without asking. SIGH.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...