Files deleted

dansnad

I installed and ran the cleaner.

I pressed analyze, then Fix.

I did both the registry and the issues menus.

files deleted:

all desktop files

quickbar shortcuts

ALL CONTENTS OF MY DOCUMENTS FOLDER

nothing else that i have noticed yet

I did not change any default settings (no custom folders, etc.)

I would like help understanding why this happened and how I can get files back. I'm running a recovery program, but don't want to pay $70 (if it even finds things).

I'm running Windows XP. CrappyCleaner version 1.26.218.

Thanks in advance...

(edit)

also, I scanned the report and did not see mydocuments as a target

• Moderators

Your sure that you did not use any other cleaning programs? You didnt add any folders to ccleaner?

I'm not an expert on file recovery by any means and never had to really do it because I always make back ups of my data. I suggest you try this program to get you files back:

http://filehippo.com/download_file_recovery/

(only free one I have seen mentioned)

Question. Could it be that explorer.exe needs to be restarted? This would affect the desktop and such, but maybe not the My Documents folder.

See if typing, explorer.exe, in the run box > click ok > brings that stuff back.

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

That was my guess too krit but that wouldnt explain the files being deleted.

Yeah, I was just hoping that they were temporarily unseen. I can't figure out how CCleaner would delete those files.

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

Yeah, I was just hoping that they were temporarily unseen. I can't figure out how CCleaner would delete those files.

i am hoping that too. I'll try the explorer thing... and i did select backups when prompted (although i only remember it for the registry fix...)