Anyone use Norton AV?

sonsie

Not a real important comment/question - just curious...

I use Norton AV 2005 and just happened to be looking at the activity log a bit ago. I've been using it for several months and under 'worm protection' it's always said "Internet Worm Protection is monitoring 3 signatures."

Today it's monitoring 573 ! I see that the date of the last revision was 12/8 and the new one is 3/15 and 3/17, so that explains it, but still....my god - who was watching out for those 570 signatures all this time?! :o

sonsie

Not a real important comment/question - just curious...

I use Norton AV 2005 and just happened to be looking at the activity log a bit ago. I've been using it for several months and under 'worm protection' it's always said "Internet Worm Protection is monitoring 3 signatures."

Today it's monitoring 573 ! I see that the date of the last revision was 12/8 and the new one is 3/15 and 3/17, so that explains it, but still....my god - who was watching out for those 570 signatures all this time?! :o

sonsie

Did you pay for Norton?

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

sonsie

You're funny. If Norton is your only protection then no one was watching. :)

As Andavari says: Get layered security. (At least I think that it was him)

Also, not any one piece of software protects against all definitions. Personally I use 8 programs + hardware firewall. There is a really good list that you can check out in the HJT thread. Look in the malware removal guide.

K

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

"Anyone using Norton AV?"

Yes, loads of people. Although it's often only until they learn they can get something about as good for free, or better for less. No disrespect intended to anyone, just seems to be the case.

Edit: "better" is, of course, subjective...

"Anyone using Norton AV?"