Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums
Sign in to follow this  
0xEBFE

[5.15.5513] Misleading Google Chrome cleaning of History

Recommended Posts

Windows 7 Professional (64-bit) + Service Pack 1

CCleaner 5.15.5513 (64-bit)

Chrome 48.0.2564.116 m (32-bit)

 

CCleaner 5.15.5513 does not properly clean Google Chrome's history. Steps to reproduce:

 

1) Open Google Chrome, and go to "chrome://history/".

2) Click "Clear browsing data and check every option along with selecting "from the beginning of time".

3) Now that you've successfully cleared the history from within Google Chrome, navigate to a single website (e.g., www.piriform.com).

4) Once https://www.piriform.com is completely loaded (to establish this in history), close out of Google Chrome.

5) Run CCleaner 5.15.5513 with the option for clearning Google Chrome's history checked.

6) After running CCleaner successfuly DO NOT OPEN Google Chrome (yet).

7) Open up the following file in a hex editor (or text editor) "%LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\History" (SQLite database file)

8) Search for "piriform" and you'll find traces of that string and url we tested to establish some history.

9) Close the History file in the hex editor (or text editor) and open up Google Chrome.

10) Navigate to "chrome://history/" and it'll say you have no history, however, traces of your history will forever be collected in "%LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\History" which is very misleading.

 

The only way to ensure your Google Chrome's history is properly cleaned is to add "%LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\History" to file inclusions to be cleaned within CCleaner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For SRWare Iron Portable (a Chromium/Chrome clone) I use my own cleaners in addition to those already in CCleaner to delete files such as the History instead of having them "cleaned" out and don't have such issues.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That file you delete is probably used for syncing when you have a Google account and have them save all your pc settings.

A nice feature if you use multiple pc's and want to use your bookmarks and history on another pc, or you just bought a new laptop and are too lazy to transfer your stuff manually.

 

It's great if you are pc illiterate and don't care if Google knows how often you go to the toilet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...