Unrecoverable and overwritten, what does this mean, how do I fix it?

theartbook35

I've been researching what this means I am not tech savvy, so I really don't understand most of the explanations I have found for what it means when files are unrecoverable, overwritten and how to solve that problem. If you could make this as simple and straight forward as possible, that would be hugely helpful.

Basically, I'm a youtuber, and I typically delete old videos I don't need anymore to save hard drive space. So I did what I normally do, but selected all of my game recording videos, didn't realize I had, and sent over 300 videos into my recycle bin. When I opened my recycle bin, the videos I had wanted to delete for good were in there, but the others were not. Those other videos, the ones I actually need, have yet to appear into my recycle bin.

So I downloaded Recuva, and it is recovering over 90 files right now. But there are several of my more recent videos that it says are unrecoverable, and that they have been overwritten by the drive that they came from.

I did delete the videos I knew I didn't want from my recycle bin, but I know for a fact I did not delete anything else. I have no idea why I can't see these files in my recycle bin. I have Recuva scanning my recycle bin for deleted files, also. Maybe I'll get lucky!

• Moderators

As far as Recuva is concerned, a state of Poor means that some data clusters allocated to the file have been overwritten by another file, Very Poor means that the majority of data clusters have been overwritten, and unrecoverable mans that all data clusters have been overwritten (or that the file length is zero).

Overwritten simply means that since the file was deleted some or all of the data clusters previously allocated to it have been allocated to another file. That file itself may have subsequently been deleted, but Recuva can't tell that.