Newbie suggestion

ccw62

Up front: I am a newbie and am using CCleaner (portable) just once in a while only.

Now, if my memory serves me well, I made the below mistake in the past as well.

I know, this is quite stupid, but I guess I donot use CCleaner regularly enough to remember it, or, whilst busy going thru all the different components of CCleaner, it simply happened.

I donot CCleaner, I am the only one to blame. Period.

That said,it is nonetheless pretty frustating... :

in the de-selecting process I -regretfully- overlooked the 2nd tab [Applications]

Therefore I lost quite a lot of settings (such as MRU's) and have to set them them back, one by one.

Again, it is my mistake, I only paid attention to the first tab.

Q: I wonder whether it would be possible to include some kind of 'protection' or 'backup' (or whatever), default enabled, so users may be able to re-instate all, or selected items?

Or (but that would be a total overhaul) have all items deselected by default and users have to select what they want, i.e. it is then by default a user's decision what to clean instead of CCleaner's decision.

Thanks,

=

• Moderators

Or (but that would be a total overhaul) have all items deselected by default and users have to select what they want, i.e. it is then by default a user's decision what to clean instead of CCleaner's decision.

+1, good idea.

the forum gets (often enough) newbies that are surprised when their browser tabs or Office recent docs or online passwords are removed.

your suggestion would then put the onus on the user to tick whatever they wanted and the consequences being totally through their actions.

Backup now & backup often.
It's your digital life - protect it with a backup.
Three things are certain; Birth, Death and loss of data. You control the last.

• Moderators

+1

I'm actually surprised it doesn't install like that for a first-use with nothing already enabled.

• Moderators