Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums
Willy2

Delete System Restore Points

Recommended Posts

CC (v4.03) can be improved:

 

I used CC to delete 15+ System Restore Points (SRPs) "in one stroke" from my Win 7 laptop. But when I hit the button "Remove" the text on that button remained in black characters for a while (10, 15 ?, 20 ? seconds (I don't remember, it's a guess, an estimate)) before being greyed out. I thought CC wasn't aware I had hit that button and therefore I did hit that button again. Then I noticed that my HDD led (system tray icon) remained solidly red/lit at the same time. Then CC started to show "it was still alive" and started to remove those SRPs.

 

After that I removed another SRP and kept an close eye on how CC behaved and again, I clearly noticed that the was a short but noticable delay between hitting the "Remove" button and CC greying out the button.

 

Solution: CC must grey out that "Remove" button as soon as (!!!) the user hits that button. This "flaw" becomes obvious when the user deletes more than one SRP.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oops. Indeed, I need to install CC v4.04. Didn't know it was released. :wacko:

 

I don't know if I want to call this a bug. If this is considered to be a bug, well, then move it to a different subforum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just deleted 21 SRPs and the time between hitting the "Remove" button and CC greying out (& blocking) that button was about 1 to 1.5 minutes. Then the user can/will get confused and can decide to hit that button again. But then the message "All selected SRPs will be deleted. Are you sure to continue ?" shows up again. Very confusing !!! Must be solved in the next CC version.

 

And yes, now I consider this to be a bug. Sorry, for posting in the wrong subforum :wacko:

 

(I am creating A LOT OF SRPs lately because I am busy testing a program that makes changes to the Windows Registry).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Erunt is a freeware solution that very quickly backs up and restores your complete registry.

 

This makes "FULL" backups of the registry only,

and may be better for you than accumulating a series of "INCREMENTAL" SRP backups and system files plus registry.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Alan: Does ERUNT backup all 13 hives in Win 7 ? At least, I know Registry Backup does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since using an SSD I have not used anything other than Macrium for backing up,

and I cannot remember how Erunt worked before the SSD.

 

There are others on the forum who probably have recent experience of ERUNT with Win 7.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agree. ERUNT has save my "computer bacon" many times as well. But Registry Backup is simply better, has a better GUI.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

CC v4.05 still needs to be improved. The program is not yet "up to snuff". I think the "Remove" button should be greyed out as soon as the user has approved the deleting of one or more Restore Points.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think the "Remove" button should be greyed out as soon as the user has approved the deleting of one or more Restore Points.

 

Au contraire -- I'd prefer such a disabling feature not be implemented cos I often delete several points singly. After each deletion I would have to exit and restart the program.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Kroozer: I was talking about "greying out", not about "disabling".

 

Currently when CC v4.05 is busy removing one or more SRPs, the button "Remove" is blocked/disabled but it isn't greyed out at the same time. And that's confusing as well.

 

CC should execute the following sequence when the user has hit "Remove":

1. Block and grey out the "Remove" button

2. Remove one or more System Restore Points.

3. Flush the mouse click/keyboard buffer.

4. Unblock the "remove" button and Un-"Grey out" the "Remove" button.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thumbs up for the CC developers. CC v4.06 is much better. The "Remove" button is blocked & greyed out as soon as the user hits "Remove".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The programcode is still not "up to snuff". Instead of hitting "Remove", CC allows me also to press the "Delete" button on my keyboard. And then the button "Remove" is blocked but it's NOT greyed out. Needs to be improved !!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...