Jump to content
Piriform Community Forums
Julia G

WİPE MFT FREE SPACE

Recommended Posts

Hello,

 

İn CCleaner,under Optons>Settings,Under 'Wipe Free Space drives'

 

the option to Wipe MFT Free Space is listed.

 

1. What does it mean and what does it actually do?

 

2.Why is it checked by default.?

 

Thank you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It overwrites file names and any file data in obsolete records in the Master File Table. It is quite safe and worth including if you're wiping free space.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It overwrites file names and any file data in obsolete records in the Master File Table. It is quite safe and worth including if you're wiping free space.

 

 

yes i just discovered the answers to my questions myself,

 

but thank you very much,for the quick reply.

 

Appreciated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@ Kroozer, it normally does wipe MFT while wiping Free Space.

 

Do you mean that you ran Free Space wiper & it wiped MFT?

Or that you ran CC & it ran free space wiper without being checkmarked?

 

If option 1, that's normal.

If option 2, have you tried also unchecking to wipe C: under CCleaner tools?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I understand it Drive Wiper wipes the MFT by default. It does not take any notice of the Wipe Free Space settings.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would be interested in knowing if anyone else has Wipe Free Space and Wipe MFT ticked by default (that is they didn't choose to do this, it seemed to be already selected)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you open the folder holding CC portable, rename ccleaner.ini to something safe, then run CC, you will get the defaults. In the Options/Settings panel Wipe MFT and drive C are checked, but Wipe Free Space in the Cleaner Panel isn't. To the original poster, I haven't the faintest idea why.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would be interested in knowing if anyone else has Wipe Free Space and Wipe MFT ticked by default (that is they didn't choose to do this, it seemed to be already selected)

 

New to the forum so I hope I did this reply correctly lol

 

In answer to your question YES to WIPE MFT IS checked by default and NO WIPE FREE SPACE is not checked by default.

Using W7 64bit and version /v3.19.1721 (64bit) CCleaner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

devzangel, are you also experiencing the issue as described thus far?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been using CC for years and yesterday stumbled upon this part of the GUI that I'd never seen before. I googled and came upon this thread (may be more recent) and am more confused. By default, Normal file deletion was checked (good) and by default, Wipe Free Space drives © and Wipe MFT Free Space was checked (not sure good or bad). I've unchecked both the C MFT. The thing is I'm running a SSD so I need to know what I should do. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

do not wipe an SSD at all ever. Until you are done with it.

SSD have limited amount of times data can be written.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hazelnut,

    I too have it checked by default and did not notice because you have to scroll down in the ADVANCED option to see that it is checked.

I have CCleaner on two computers and it is only checked by default on one of them. The only reason I noticed it is because I just ran the clener on one computer and it was taking forever. Did not usually do that with the other computer. I did see that everything went fast till it got to WIPE FREE SPACE. Could not figure out what that was till I scrolled down in the advanced option and there it was right at the end.

I also noticed as it was cleaning and Wiping Free Space the TIME LEFT was going up instead of down and it had a corresponding % that was going up.

Very strange. You would think there would f been a notice of some sort.

TomS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

spetho2001, if you have secure deletion set to more than one pass it takes longer

Most say there is little to be gained from using more than one pass. 

 

Its in Options > Settings > Secure Deletion. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×