Registry clean list keeps reappearing

n4dou

Running Win XP Pro SP2. When I attempt to clean the registry (Fix Selected Issues) CCleaner cleans OK, but when I close and reopen the program and run the scan all of those registry lines will show up again. Any help would be appreciated. I am a newbie and have searched the forum, but haven't found any answers. Thanks :blink:

Scan for issues - and for each thing that comes up navigate to it with regedit (you can see where to go under "Registry Key" next to each issues CCleaner finds), right-click the key you find, go to Permissions, click add, type Administrators and make sure you have full control (tick each think next to it under allow), then right-click and hit delete, should do the job....

(regedit: Start - Run - type regedit - O.K)

Scan for issues - and for each thing that comes up navigate to it with regedit (you can see where to go under "Registry Key" next to each issues CCleaner finds), right-click the key you find, go to Permissions, click add, type Administrators and make sure you have full control (tick each think next to it under allow), then right-click and hit delete, should do the job....

25946[/snapback]

Thanks for the help Predator. I was able delete two of the issues using your suggestion. However, I not being allowed to make any changes on the rest. I can't view the premissions but I can change them, but I am still denied access. All of the rest are unused file extensions. I am in Administrator mode and not my User Profile. What am I missing.

Hmm, it is strange that you cannot view the Permissions, you should be able to for everything.

To access Safe Mode (for Windows XP), go to Start - Run - type "msconfig" (without the quotes) - BOOT.INI - tick /SAFEBOOT - Hit Apply then O.K - Press the Restart button. Repeat the above but untick the /SAFEBOOT box to get out of safe mode.