Avast free antivirus.

Northerner

I have been using Avast for the last 11 months and today I received an email saying it expires this month.

I understand this message is probably sent to encourage me to move to the paid version, but I am quite happy with the free one.

Does anyone know if I have to delete my present version of Avast, using add/remove programmes, and then download Avast free antivirus again, or can I use the same method, as with CCleaner, which is to update without removing the other, or older, version?

• 3 weeks later...

My Good Friends on the Forum, I hope this is the proper place to post since Avast is being discussed. I have the industrial strength Avast, Windows XP Professional, 32-bit, SP3, Firefox V. 15, 75GB hard drive only using about 15%, shoe size 11w. When running a scan it starts out rear wheels smoking, front end up like a AAA dragster. Then it slows down to lower k's in speed then raises and lowers to painfully slow speed. Is there some particular reason for it acting this way? Rather annoying as I have to keep an eye on CPU temps constantly. Thanks so much for any help with this and a good day to all. Warlock

If I can stop one heart from breaking, I shall not live in vain. If I can ease one life the aching or cool one pain, or help one fainting robin unto his nest again, I shall not live in vain. (Emily Dickinson-1830-1886)

I have been using Avast for the last 11 months and today I received an email saying it expires this month.

I understand this message is probably sent to encourage me to move to the paid version, but I am quite happy with the free one.

What Andavari said, or just uninstall it & use AVG free, since it does not have to be registered.