Ccleaner taking too long to clean after analyzing

jamesbond

I am not very technical when it comes to working with pc software issues. I have a Dell XPS 410 PC that is about 5 years old. Came with MS Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit OS SP2 installed. Have been running pretty well until about a few months ago. Having a deletion issue ongoing. Windows Explorer hanging up every time I try to delete a file(picture files, favorite links, transfer from photo gallery to webshots,). The "Calculating Time Remaining"dialog comes up and just sits there unitil I eventually try to close it (sometimes in excess of 30+ minutes). I get a message that Windows Explorer has quit working, a lot of data collection activity goes on, and then problem report sent to Microsoft. Spoke with a Dell Tech who remote accessed my pc and did some trouble shooting. He set up a Safe Mode in guest mode and was able to delete files and send them to the recycle bin. The delete process operated as normal, but when going back to normal OS system mode, the delete hanging issue returned. He seemed to think the problem is somewhere in the current installed OS and came to the conclusion that I need to back up critical files and do a OS uninstall and come back with a fresh copy; which I am not happy about. We did some defragging, disk cleanup, and he installed Ccleaner on the pc. He seemed to like this tool a lot better than some others that are out there. So, here is where I am. Seems like Ccleaner is working very well when you click the analyze button. Keep in mind my PC is almost 5 years old. It shows in the results screen quite a bit of old stuff that should help the situation once removed. One problem: when I click on the cleaner button, the process starts but the green processing bar just sits at 2% complete even after I leave it active for almost 2 hours. I walk away from the PC and return and find after an additional hour, it is still sitting at 2% complete. DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY IDEAS ON WHAT IS HAPP