help needed

oh boy

Hello,

this is really embarrassing... so, my parents own a PC with Windows XP. They don't really have a clue about computers and only use it to browse a little, email and stuff like that. if there is something to install or any problems at all, they call me (no expert either, but not a complete noob - usually). Now, a while ago i installed the CCleaner and run it a few times since then, just to clean the temp.files etc.

However, the last time i did that, i guess i had a blackout and decided to also set ALL existing autostart-entries to "No". I was actually surprised when the computer refused to reboot.

At first i thought it's no big deal and wanted to re-install Windows, but it turned out my parents don't have the CD anymore. Then i thought - alright, let's try Linux then (always wanted to do that anyway). Problem is - regardless of the distribution, it seems that i can not install anything on that damned computer anymore (or maybe i'm just too stupid). i'll just never get further then the BIOS - every OS begins to boot and then... nothing.

My question is now: how can i fix this? how do i get the machine to start up again? did i completely wreck it by changing all autostart-entries?

Any help would be appreciated.

Looking at CCleaner's "Startup" entries it doesn't appear to provide a complete list of auto start entries.

This is a good thing because if you disable stuff willy-nilly then you're unlikely to bring down the Operating System.

Because of this fact I'm not entirely convinced your booting problem has anything to do with disabled auto starts more like another problem.

Have you tried boot option (F8) Safe Mode or use "last known good configuration"??

What happens when you boot Windows exactly, i.e.

- My PC beeps 3 times and won't boot the hard drive

- Blank screen, I don't see the XP splash screen

- Windows stuck at the XP splash screen

- Windows loads and then I see a blue flash and it reboots