Restore points

Bercilak

Hi. I'm really new to all this as usually I just drive the computer rather than trying to understand what is going on under the bonnet but CCleaner was recomended as we thought there was a Registry problem with my laptop. So please forgive me if I use some wrong terminology or make other errors.

So I've installed CCleaner and first did the Registry fix. All continued to work ok. I also created restore points both before and after intalling CCleaner. I was able to see these all listed in the Tools section.

So feeling confident(ish) I moved on to doing a Clean. I left the default boxes ticked and took a deep breath and clicked. All seemed fine. Computer still seems to be working ok. I also got rid of some old programmes that I know I dont use.

But then I noticed all my Restore points had gone missing. By adding another and running Clean again I think I have discovered that the Windows Log Files check box in Cleaner includes this information. This doesn't seem right as surely it isn't the intention to be able to remove all restore points so easily by doing a clean.

Thanks in advance for any easy to understand help anyone can give.

AFAIK, Windows Log Files are just text files which contains info about several processes. System Restore Points are much more than text files.

CCleaner "cleans" (deletes) those logs when you run it with the Windows Log Files option checked.

If your restore points are being deleted, then it's because either:

A_ You are using some software (i.e. CCleaner or Windows own Disk Cleanup) to clean them, and in CCleaner's case you have to do it manually (is not "by default").

B_ Some other process is deleting those Restore Points without your knowledge (not CCleaner).

C_ Windows deletes "old" Restore Points when they take 15% of your HDD volume.

D_ Your are using multiple OS in your system.

E_ For some reason System Restore could be disabled at all (recheck in Windows if it is "on" or "off").