212eta

Since CCleaner has a Registry Cleaner,

it would be nice to have a Tool

for Registry Deftagmentation.

In that case, CCleaner would offer a

-Complete- Registry Maintenance.

The most effective Registry Cleaners have a Tool

for Registry Deftagmentation.

Wouldn't it be nice if CCleaner had one, too?

-Don't you believe that Registry Defragmentation is important?

Many experts argue that is more important than Registry Cleaning!

-Can a Tool for Registry Defragmentation be added to CCleaner?

-Is it possible?

From what I understand (and I am not really an expert so don't bash me if I get something wrong here),

Registry "Defragmenting" otherwise known as Registry "Compacting" differs a lot from traditional Registry Cleaning.

In registry cleaning, unneeded or unwanted registry entries are removed, this leaves "gaps" in the registry so that the computer does not have to re-write most of, or all of the registry back to the disk without that space. Similarly, when values are written to the registry where there is no blank area, they are appended to the end, resulting in the "fragmentation" of information.

When defragmenting or compacting the registry, these spaces are removed and entries placed in their proper locations. This can result in both a decrease in space used by the registry, and a performance increase for registry operations.

I cannot give an estimate for the performance gain, but I can for the for the lessening of space used by the registry. On my computer, I reduced the size of the registry by 7% by compacting my registry. (I used 3 tools in verifying this because I was skeptical)

To me, this seems like a useful and reasonable addition to CCleaner.

• 4 weeks later...
From what I understand (and I am not really an expert so don't bash me if I get something wrong here),

Registry "Defragmenting" otherwise known as Registry "Compacting" differs a lot from traditional Registry Cleaning.