XP to SP2 or not to SP2, that is the question?

Normandie

I know I am getting on dangerous terrritory here, but really want & need some solid advice. I am not an expert & I have ask lots of people around me, but they are not experts either, so don't know what to do about SP2. I have not made the move yet, I am still on SP1 and have had no problems or complaints. But lots of people are saying, "you really need to go to SP2".

I have heard however that computers that were bought with Windows XP -- SP2 already installed have no problems, but that a LOT of people who make the update from Windows XP SP1 to SP2 are having lots of problems.

So the question, is it really necessary & or worth the risk of having problems to update to SP2? My Dad always told me, "if it is not broke don't fix it", so I am wondering if I should just apply Dad's advice or take the leap for SP2.

Thanks for your advice,

Normandie

• Moderators

I think you should deffinately upgrade just because of the security pathces. From what I've read people who have issues updating to sp2 usually had other problems before like having lots of spyware and viruses. Also alot of the time they were using pirated copies of xp and their product key wouldnt work.

Look at everything on this page and you should be ok.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sp2/default.mspx

I'm curious to hear what people like Tarun and Djlizard say but I'm sure they'll agree with me.

I think you should deffinately upgrade just because of the security pathces. From what I've read people who have issues updating to sp2 usually had other problems before like having lots of spyware and viruses. Also alot of the time they were using pirated copies of xp and their product key wouldnt work.

Look at everything on this page and you should be ok.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sp2/default.mspx

I'm curious to hear what people like Tarun and Djlizard say but I'm sure they'll agree with me.

rridgely,