Firewall Discussion

Andavari

• Moderators
So you dont think it's a problem that the windows firewall dosent scan out going traffic?

So what if you download a program that connects to the internet without your knowledge and downloads a virus? With zone alarm all I have to is click deny access and problem solved, not so with the windows firewall. Also right when sp2 first came out wasnt their a problem with certain viruses and worms that could actually shut it down? I have no clue if this was fixed.

What problems did you have with zone alarm? I have been using it for about two years and it has never crashed or anything. Once I allowed firefox and thunderbird and my games access to the internet and turned off the notifications I dont even know its running. I just click allow when a program wants access and thats it.

Look at this (look under other firewalls)as well. Zone Alarm recommended on a microsoft site? Sounds like the windows firewall is a stinker to me.

I completely understand what you're saying, please don't take what I've written below as being hard-headed.

---

Since the Windows Firewall doesn't scan outgoing traffic that is my major gripe about it so no I'm not o.k. with that missing feature. The other major gripe is not having a systray icon to indicate it's functional.

I do full system scans everyday for viruses, spyware, adware, trojans (malware). I never knew anything about Windows Firewall being remotely shutdown. If Windows Firewall is shutdown I'd think the Windows Security Center would notice that.

Problems with third-party firewalls I've had:

Sygate Personal Firewall:

* Blocks a bunch of websites such as www.apple.com/quicktime including the QuickTime Player update program. Blocks some stuff when trying to register extended warranties for products purchased at Staples.