Wireless setup help please

JDPower

Apologies if theres some stupid questions here but I've zero networking experience of any kind (any knowledge in this post is purely from Googling).

Need to setup a wireless network, my new lappy is wireless enabled (Dell Wireless 1390 802.11b/g Mini-Card), my girlfriends isn't.

Firstly my gf's lappy (a Toshiba A60-191) has a PC card slot, is this where I would plug in a wireless adaptor like this one:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-WG511-Wire...0392&sr=8-1

And then (from the list of my ISP's supported routers) get one of these wireless routers:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-DG834G-54M...0392&sr=8-1

Am I along the right lines so far :unsure:

Also will I be able to connect to the router wired while gf connects to it wirelessly?

And if I connect to it wired I will need an ethernet cable, yes?

Any other advice or anything else you think I should know would be gratefully received :unsure:

YES to everything. You seem to have it all correct.

I've never used Netgear so I have no opinion in that regard.

One thing you should know ... if you have other 2.4 GHz devices (e.g., cordless telephone) they create interference.

One thing you should know ... if you have other 2.4 GHz devices (e.g., cordless telephone) they create interference.

Usually the router has an option to switch what channel it sends it out on... My Linksys router has the option to slightly change the frequency so it doesn't inter with my cordless phone. My microwave causes more interference than my router does :P .

AJ

Usually the router has an option to switch what channel it sends it out on... My Linksys router has the option to slightly change the frequency so it doesn't inter with my cordless phone. My microwave causes more interference than my router does :P .

AJ