Jump to content
Piriform Community Forums

nukecad

Members
  • Content count

    1,279
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About nukecad

  • Rank
    Nuclear (and Beer) Powered
  • Birthday 26/02/1960

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Cumbria UK (Lake District)
  • Interests
    Beer, beer, and did I mention Whisky?

Recent Profile Visitors

2,652 profile views
  1. Google Easter Eggs.

    You may know that Google is reknowned for their hidden 'Easter Eggs'. (Clicking things in a certain order, or typing a particular phrase, will launch a hidden game or other feature). Today they have a not so hidden one, it's bouncing about on the "I'm feeling lucky" button. Try clicking it a few times to fill your screen with images of bunnies, eggs, flowers, hot cross buns, simnel cakes, and so on. Probably the most intriguing one for most will be the 'Easter Bilby'. Then click on an image to read about why that item is associated with Easter. One way to pass a bit of time while your Easter meal is cooking.
  2. tracking files

    I think you meant to post that in your other thread rather than here? https://forum.piriform.com/topic/53837-clean-windows-10-activitiestimeline/?tab=comments#comment-305606 I'm not sure if the Piriform developers would be interested in doing that. (We are mainly only users on the forum, the Piriform staff do pop in and read posts but don't always answer). I think a potential problem would be that people would start complaining that it wasn't being cleared, simply because they've forgotten (or don't know) how syncing works. We already see some of that with Chrome users complaining on here that Chrome isn't being cleaned at all, of course it is cleaned off their computer but then gets resynced again from the cloud.
  3. Clean Windows 10 ActivitiesTimeline

    Unfortunately it's just the way that the Timeline feature in Windows works. If Timeline is set to syncronise then the data is saved on Microsofts' cloud servers, and no third party cleaner will be able to touch or clean it there. (You wouldn't want someone to be able to get into Microsofts servers and delete everything, by intent or by mistake). You can clear it locally, but sync will just put it back again. They are Microsoft's servers so you can only clear the stored data there from within Timeline itself. Go to Settings>Privacy>Activity history and click on the 'Clear' button. Or if you don't use Timeline then turn it off altogether. (It's a problem you also see with browsers that are synced to the cloud, you can clear the local data off your computer but then it just gets synced back again).
  4. A new Button to make CCL more efficient..

    The "trackers" that CCleaner reports are not what anyone reasonable would regard as trackers. See the link below the red text in my signature.
  5. Of course if you set up mutiple user accounts then you will need CCleaner pro to clean them all at the same time. CCleaner Free can only clear the one logged in account.
  6. Tracker Removal?

    Click on the the link underneath the red text in my signature below to see an explanation of why this happens. (and what these 'Trackers' actually are).
  7. If you have multiple users using one PC you should also consider setting up a seperate user account for each person, each with it's own username and password. That way all their settings, histories, etc. are kept seperate and can only be seen by that user or an administrator account. You usually give them a 'Standard' account so they can't access adminitration tasks or settings. (If you allow visitors to use your computer then you would usually also set up a 'Guest' account with minimal permissions and no password). It's simple to do, here's an easy guide for Win7: https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/create-new-user-account-in-windows-vista-7/ And how to enable (turn on) the guest account: https://www.lifewire.com/guest-accounts-in-windows-7-3506926
  8. Or you could simply set Firefox to delete history on closing. Options>Privacy & Security, scroll down to History. Check 'Clear history when Firefox closes' then click on 'settings' to further define just what should get cleared.
  9. Deleting borwser data (cookies, cache etc.)

    Yes it's normal. Although browsers will delete most cookies and your browsing history, if you set them to, they will usually leave some things behind by design. "Persistent" cookies (supercookies), session checkpoints, cache, etc. can be left behind and not cleared by the browser - as can things like old crash reports and so on. For example; when I was writing my own batch cleaning routine for Firefox I found that cookies/supercookies were stored if 4 different file locations, the cache/activity stream in 3 locations, crash reports in 2, and the session checkpoints in another. That will be partly so that they can pick which ones they clear and which ones they don't when you run the browsers own cleaning routing. If you have multiple users on your computer then each user will have their own copy of each of those files.
  10. nmap version wrong - software updater

    There have been a couple of posts about the new Updater reading digits in the wrong order like that. I'd just ignore it until they sort it out. There again the more reports they get the quicker they may sort it.
  11. notepad problem

    This is a Windows problem caused by the file being in one or more of 3 locations, it's not because of something that CC has removed. The simplest cure is to locate and delete that file form the rouge location, or to disable it from startup. Both methods are explained in this Windows Support article: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/330132/notepad-starts-with-shellclassinfo-localizedresourcename-systemroot-sy
  12. Do not SEE the Difference!

    What Pro has that Free doesn't: Scheduling, Smart Cleaning (Monitoring), Cleaning multiple user profiles, Automatic Updating, the new Software Updater will fetch updates automatically. Pro also entitles you to direct email support from Piriform rather than asking on the forum. The cleaning they do is exactly the same, as are all the other tools. If you don't need or want those extra features then just don't renew your subscription. (The Pro features should continue to work except for the the direct support and the Automatic updating . Though that's a bit under debate at the moment).
  13. Yellow Dot

    The yellow dot shows that you have a Beta (trial) version of a new feature; in this case it will be the new Software Updater. I assume that as you are seeing the yellow dot you are running CCleaner version 5.55? A new version, v5.56, was released yesterday, if you update to that then the yellow dot should go away again because the Software Updater is now (supposedly) fully released.
  14. I suspect that the Updater will simply be reading the Windows file table rather than looking for and querying each individual .exe file. There have been a few complaints that it seems to be reading the version information wrongly for various programmes. It's obviously still a work in progress that was/has been rushed out too early.
  15. McAfee + Ccleaner

    Good to hear it's sorted out for you. It's not clear whether it's because of the new version, or because McAfee updated their definitions, or both. But as long as it worked that's what matters.
×