Can't download new versions of Ccleaner

renard

I have been running Ccleaner successfully for many months. But when I try to download the latest version, either through FileHippo or any other site, this happens: when I click to download, all I get is a blank screen with, in the top left corner, a tiny circle, triangle and square. The word 'Done' appears at the bottom of the screen.

That's all that happens. The new version of Ccleaner has not been downloaded.

(I sometimes have problems downloading other stuff, too - for example, McAfee automatic downloads will not download automatically.)

Any advice will be very welcome. Please be gentle with me, as I find it difficult to understand all that technical stuff!!

... when I try to download the latest version, either through FileHippo or any other site ...
Have you tried the CCleaner site Downloads? Personally I wouldn't use any other site.

... a tiny circle, triangle and square.
Indicates a blocked image. Do you have any internet security enabled?

• Moderators

Do you have any internet security enabled?

It does sound like that! Could be something like the firewall, the HOSTS file perhaps, or some proxy ad blocker.

If you haven't rebooted in a long time that can sometimes fix things for instance if your firewall is blocking something and won't unblock it, etc.

Do you have any internet security enabled?

Yep. Try turning McAfee off to download, and install. ;)

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

I am very grateful to you three for your suggestiions.

Glenn, I tried your suggestion of downloading direct from Ccleaner, using the link in your post. No success, I'm afraid - exactly the same thing happened.

Andavari, I have rebooted several times recently but the problem remains.

As to my internet security, this is where things get a bit complicated for me, as I am not very computer literate. Sorry about that, you clever fellas!