CCleaner Does not Clean Browsing History

tdl

• Moderators

Ummm, if you use Recuva, that's it's job - to recover deleted files.

CCleaner deletes what it finds, Recuva restores what it finds.

If you don't won't Recuva(or similar) programs to restore your deleted files, you need to do secure wipes or wipe free space tasks.

And even then, there will be a chance that Recuva can retrieve your data, partially or in full.

Edit: and what's the connection to the title, are those 11.5MB of files your browsing history?

Backup now & backup often.
It's your digital life - protect it with a backup.
Three things are certain; Birth, Death and loss of data. You control the last.

I have been using CCleaner on all my computers for 3 or 4 years without issues, until I noticed this week that CCleaner will not delete the browser history on IE 10 (which I just got around to upgrading to in the past couple of weeks) running on my Windows 7 Home 64-bit HP netbook (AMD E-450 with 8 MB Ram).

Particularly, the links inside of Craigslist remain in purple showing the links I have clicked, even after running CCleaner.

I used CCleaner to uninstall CCleaner, and then reinstalled the latest version of CCleaner, again, and tested, but the problem persists.

I've looked over all the settings and everything seems to be checked "on" and I had not changed anything anyway for some years, so I don't know why CCleaner is now not deleting all the history files.

I think perhaps this newest version (4.02.4115) might have a bug in it when trying to run on the latest version of MS IE 10?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

I have been using CCleaner on all my computers for 3 or 4 years without issues, until I noticed this week that CCleaner will not delete the browser history on IE 10 (which I just got around to upgrading to in the past couple of weeks) running on my Windows 7 Home 64-bit HP netbook (AMD E-450 with 8 MB Ram).