Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

Skype & Ccleaner Problem At Start-up


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE KevinS

KevinS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 January 2007 - 12:02 PM

Dear support team,

Not only on my pc but at some people I know to we have the following problem:

When you let CCleaner run automatically at start-up then it deletes a preferences file of skype. You get an error when Windows is loaded and skype auto-starts. Then skype only shows the loading screen and no contact list. If you close skype and restart it then there is no problem. When you reboot without CCleaner then there is no problem to.
So it looks like CCleaner deletes a preferences file from skype at start-up, how to solve this?

I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you!

#2 OFFLINE KevinS

KevinS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 January 2007 - 05:09 AM

Anyone? Thank you :)

#3 OFFLINE hazelnut

hazelnut

    try to stay calm

  • Moderators
  • 12,632 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Huddersfield uk

Posted 11 January 2007 - 10:55 AM

What happens to skype if you don't run ccleaner at startup? If it is okay, this may have to be your workaround for now. :)
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND HERE

http://www.piriform.com/docs

#4 OFFLINE KevinS

KevinS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 January 2007 - 12:15 PM

Thank you for your reply!


What happens to skype if you don't run ccleaner at startup? If it is okay, this may have to be your workaround for now. :)




If you close skype and restart it then there is no problem. When you reboot without CCleaner then there is no problem to.

So when I don't run ccleaner at startup, there's nog problem...
But how could this be solved?? CCleaner should not remove that sjype preferences file...

#5 OFFLINE hazelnut

hazelnut

    try to stay calm

  • Moderators
  • 12,632 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Huddersfield uk

Posted 11 January 2007 - 01:47 PM

I do not have skype so am a bit in the dark here. Do you have the latest version 3.0.0.198? Is it something that started after a version upgrade of ccleaner or skype?

I am just wondering where the preferences files are stored as ccleaner is more of a temp file cleaner as you know.
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND HERE

http://www.piriform.com/docs

#6 OFFLINE JDPower

JDPower

    May contain traces of sarcasm

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 11 January 2007 - 02:29 PM

So when I don't run ccleaner at startup, there's no problem...

Just on a side note, running CCleaner at startup can cause problems when you install some programs that require a reboot to complete installation. I think most would suggest not running it at startup.
I know that doesn't help with your problem, just pointing it out.

#7 OFFLINE KevinS

KevinS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 January 2007 - 10:12 AM

Hazelnut,

This is the error at startup, you can also see the location of the preferences file:

Posted Image

Hope to hear from you soon!

@JDPower,
I know what you mean but I wan't CCleaner to run at startup :)

#8 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 14 January 2007 - 01:19 PM

You need to disable the cleaning of Macromedia Flash Player by doing the following:
1. Run CCleaner, then click the large Cleaner button, next under Cleaner Settings click the Applications tab.
2. Now scroll down to the Multimedia section and untick Macromedia Flash Player.
3. Done your program should no longer loose it's settings.

Tip:
When new versions of CCleaner are released make sure you install over the top of the existing version that way your settings will remain intact which will negate any forgetting to untick Macromedia Flash Player.

Piriform software help documentation is available at: http://www.piriform.com/docs

 

Don't PM me for advice! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.


#9 OFFLINE KevinS

KevinS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 January 2007 - 05:47 PM

Thank you!

Could this file be excluded in new versions of CCleaner? In other words could this be fixed in an new build?

#10 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 14 January 2007 - 06:51 PM

That's something for the developer MrG to consider/answer, etc., in the meantime you could always post it as a suggested feature here:
http://forum.CCleane...hp?showforum=14

Piriform software help documentation is available at: http://www.piriform.com/docs

 

Don't PM me for advice! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.