Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

DEFRAGMENT FREEZES UP


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE latinadimepiece

latinadimepiece

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 March 2005 - 06:16 AM

Everytime i try and run maintance wizard it locks up on defragment. I havent defrag for a few monthes. I keep getting error message low on memory too. (not sure if this has something to do with not defraging)

#2 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,634 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 24 March 2005 - 09:30 AM

What version of Windows are you using?

Exit running programs which will free up some memory before attempting to defrag.

You can optionally defrag in Safe Mode which will automatically disable startup programs.

Piriform software help documentation.

CCleaner is NOT a malware removal tool.

Don't PM me for advice or help! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.


#3 OFFLINE Lee16

Lee16

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 24 March 2005 - 10:25 AM

Also:

What is the exact error mesage your getting?

What is your OS?

--lee

#4 OFFLINE Tarun

Tarun

    Lunarian

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,071 posts

Posted 24 March 2005 - 11:12 AM

All good questions guys. Hooah! ;)

What OS are you on?
How much RAM do you have?
When was the last time you scanned for any malware and viruses?
Does this occur on a fresh boot (cold boot, first startup after shutdown) or when exactly?

#5 OFFLINE Ben

Ben

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts

Posted 24 March 2005 - 12:36 PM

Everytime i try and run maintance wizard it locks up on defragment. I havent defrag for a few monthes. I keep getting error message low on memory too. (not sure if this has something to do with not defraging)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I would suggest you load up in Safe Mode so that less proccesses are running. Make sure it's not Safe Mode with Networking, you want just Safe Mode.

#6 OFFLINE Tarun

Tarun

    Lunarian

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,071 posts

Posted 24 March 2005 - 01:54 PM

I would suggest you load up in Safe Mode so that less proccesses are running. Make sure it's not Safe Mode with Networking, you want just Safe Mode.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Good point, but even there malware and viruses can load.

#7 OFFLINE Ben

Ben

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts

Posted 24 March 2005 - 02:04 PM

Yeah exactly. But I would try that, see if helps at all.

#8 OFFLINE gunner

gunner

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:P'cola Florida
  • Interests:Travel,Movies,Music

Posted 27 March 2005 - 12:05 AM

Yeah exactly. But I would try that, see if helps at all.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I used to have that problem, and solved the low memory issue with ram idle available at tweaknow.com. It will free up enough memory to get through the defrag.Also use a power defragmenter from sysinternals.com to speed the process.Looks like we both need to buy some memory.
If it isn't broke, tweak it.

#9 OFFLINE kdoty

kdoty

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 03 April 2005 - 02:07 PM

I used to have that problem, and solved the low memory issue with ram idle available at tweaknow.com. It will free up enough memory to get through the defrag.Also use a power defragmenter from sysinternals.com to speed the process.Looks like we both need to buy some memory.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



That or hopefully it isnt full of spyware or adware, running in the back ground utilizeing the resources.Could be a number of things if you really think about it.from how the pc has been kept up, to how it has been used online and if it has had proper protection while being used.i would suggest, just seeing how many processes are running first thing,then run a good spyware program, then scan it for viruses, then do the disk clean up..Just how much memory do you have on this pc? and the size of the processor.Anymore you just cant jump on the net a new comer to the internet, with out knowing how to protect your pc and yourself, along with knowing how to clean up your pc after you have been online. also use my regseeker program to clean up all those leftover files still in your registry, after all the add removed programs, you have done so in the past. add-remove doesnt remove them all correctly..That could be a problem also....

#10 OFFLINE PicAFlic

PicAFlic

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 May 2005 - 07:20 PM

Hey,
If you havn't solved your problem yet or if someone else is having this problem, I reccomend downloading Diskeeper. I own Diskeeper Pro, but I bet the other version os OK 2. It works GREAT and FAST!






~PicAFlic~

#11 OFFLINE Tarun

Tarun

    Lunarian

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,071 posts

Posted 07 May 2005 - 08:03 PM

Hey,
  If you havn't solved your problem yet or if someone else is having this problem, I reccomend downloading Diskeeper. I own Diskeeper Pro, but I bet the other version os OK 2. It works GREAT and FAST!
                                                                            ~PicAFlic~

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

You apparently never tried PerfectDisk. It owns all. :D

#12 OFFLINE TwistedMetal

TwistedMetal

    Forum Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 1,592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avondale, AZ
  • Interests:CCleaner, XBOX ONE, Android, iPhone

Posted 07 May 2005 - 11:59 PM

I use O&O Defrag myself.
Your Friendly Neighborhood Piriform Forum Moderator
Quick Links: Piriform | Piriform Documentation | Downloads

#13 OFFLINE DjLizard

DjLizard

    Dial-a-fix author

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,339 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 09:10 AM

Y'all are slippin away from the topic... latinadimepiece is having trouble with the EXISTING defrag program... out of memory errors also don't usually mean that you're out of memory... they usually happen when a corrupted EXE runs, or if a program has a severe memory leak... etc... let's try to get back on topic ;)

#14 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,634 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 12 May 2005 - 01:45 AM

out of memory errors also don't usually mean that you're out of memory... they usually happen when a corrupted EXE runs, or if a program has a severe memory leak... etc...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

indeed. If the OS in question is Win9x running ScanDisk by itself may fix some errors. It also wouldn't hurt to run System File Checker (start, run, sfc.exe) to find and replace corrupt files. I wouldn't use a third-party disk defragger until the error is resolved, I surely don't remember the two I previous used VoptXP, and Diskeeper ever checking the disk for errors before defragmenting it. If there are corrupt files and the disk is defragmented it could create more problems -- just try to avoid having to format the disk it's a royal time consuming pain in the a$$.

Piriform software help documentation.

CCleaner is NOT a malware removal tool.

Don't PM me for advice or help! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.


#15 OFFLINE SkeeterBeeter

SkeeterBeeter

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:New Mexico
  • Interests:Warm Fire and a warm woman..

Posted 14 May 2005 - 09:49 AM

Everytime i try and run maintance wizard it locks up on defragment. I havent defrag for a few monthes. I keep getting error message low on memory too. (not sure if this has something to do with not defraging)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I have Win98SE and have same problem , haven't run defrag for , maybe a yr. now , Searching for answers on the internet I found out this has something to do with the File Cache....maybe wrong tech term , is too full to defrag to complete and to eliminate this problem you have to reduce the "File Cache"SP to complete the defrag , but I have not found how to do this other than to dwnld another d*** defrag program that eliminates or reduces the resources to defrag....... <_<

#16 OFFLINE DjLizard

DjLizard

    Dial-a-fix author

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,339 posts

Posted 14 May 2005 - 10:44 AM

98 has many issues with defrag... first of all, defrag.exe has to be replaced with the version from Windows Me before it'll stop restarting... even then it'll keep restarting if there's background processes, which is why it's best, in 98, to defrag from safe mode.

Anyway, the original poster hasn't come back yet so we'll consider this case closed for now :P

#17 OFFLINE Tarun

Tarun

    Lunarian

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,071 posts

Posted 14 May 2005 - 11:28 AM

98 has many issues with defrag... first of all, defrag.exe has to be replaced with the version from Windows Me before it'll stop restarting... even then it'll keep restarting if there's background processes, which is why it's best, in 98, to defrag from safe mode.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Also, using GEODisk will help with that issue.

#18 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,634 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 14 May 2005 - 12:26 PM

Another way to run maintenance is to have it run as soon as the system starts by using a .reg file to launch it, that's how I used to always run maintenance on my Win98 system. The .reg file halts the loading of the desktop, and programs that start from the Startup menu, however those that load from the registry will run.

This is the .reg file that will launch the Maintenance Wizard:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]
"Run System Maintenance on startup once"="C:\\WINDOWS\\TUNEUP.EXE"
After the command "C:\\WINDOWS\\TUNEUP.EXE" you need to hit the enter key twice, since the .reg file won't work without two null blank lines after the command.

Piriform software help documentation.

CCleaner is NOT a malware removal tool.

Don't PM me for advice or help! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.


#19 OFFLINE DjLizard

DjLizard

    Dial-a-fix author

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,339 posts

Posted 14 May 2005 - 12:33 PM

After the command "C:\\WINDOWS\\TUNEUP.EXE" you need to hit the enter key twice, since the .reg file won't work without two null blank lines after the command.


I've never heard of this -- where'd you get that idea from?

#20 OFFLINE SkeeterBeeter

SkeeterBeeter

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:New Mexico
  • Interests:Warm Fire and a warm woman..

Posted 15 May 2005 - 09:59 AM

98 has many issues with defrag... first of all, defrag.exe has to be replaced with the version from Windows Me before it'll stop restarting... even then it'll keep restarting if there's background processes, which is why it's best, in 98, to defrag from safe mode.

Anyway, the original poster hasn't come back yet so we'll consider this case closed for now :P

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


This is exactly what my defrag does and at one time I let it defrag for 12 HOURS CONTINUOUS and was still restarting and defragging , I finally stopped the defrag and cut my loses. I will look into O&O defrag and also what Tarun has suggested . I don't like running a defrag from the safe mode when it is supposed to run from Windows shell.................Tells me the defrag program in maintenance mode is not performing what it is supposed too. Thanks DjLizard.........