After clicking the executable that installs CCleaner, my PeerGuardian warns me that my system is attempting to connect to the following:
Description: PornDirect/SiteFinder/Verisign
(Address: 64.94.110.11)
Should I wish to proceed with running the executable, I would have to disable my PeerGuardian. However, since I don't really want to be connected to something called "PornDirect", I haven't yet installed CCleaner.
What in the name of the Wide, Wide World of Sports is going on here?
Shnaggletooth
Interesting phenomenon while installing CCleaner:
Started by shnaggletooth, Jul 08 2006 08:09 PM
6 replies to this topic
#1 OFFLINE
Posted 08 July 2006 - 08:09 PM
#3 OFFLINE
Posted 08 July 2006 - 08:22 PM
neighberaaron, on Jul 8 2006, 04:12 PM, said:
PeerGuardian describes the link you provided as "ServerBeach: Emule Servers and Kaaza Fakes". I downloaded the CCleaner program from this link: http://www.filehippo...nload_ccleaner/, and chose the latest version.
Shnaggletooth
#4 OFFLINE
Posted 08 July 2006 - 08:31 PM
maybe you have spyware or something.
if you make sure that the link i gave you is in the address bar and the page doesnt redirect, i would try downloading it anyways, only if your sure it came from the link i gave you.
if it is spyware, you can do a scan with "spybot search and destroy" and do a virus scan if your really worried about it and spybot doesnt find anything.
then, lastly, run ccleaner!
if you make sure that the link i gave you is in the address bar and the page doesnt redirect, i would try downloading it anyways, only if your sure it came from the link i gave you.
if it is spyware, you can do a scan with "spybot search and destroy" and do a virus scan if your really worried about it and spybot doesnt find anything.
then, lastly, run ccleaner!
#5 OFFLINE
Posted 09 July 2006 - 05:38 AM
I like to download my versions of ccleaner from this link, (slim version of course !!)
http://www.ccleaner....oad/builds.aspx
http://www.ccleaner....oad/builds.aspx
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND HERE
http://www.piriform.com/docs
http://www.piriform.com/docs
#6 OFFLINE
Posted 09 July 2006 - 10:03 AM
Strange...
As hazelnut said, its best to download from the official website, and to use the basic or slim build, not the standard build. I prefer the slim build.
That IP seems to run a webserver, that list files at http://64.94.110.11/
A RIPE whois lookup; http://www.ripe.net/whois?form_type=simple...o_search=Search
As hazelnut said, its best to download from the official website, and to use the basic or slim build, not the standard build. I prefer the slim build.
That IP seems to run a webserver, that list files at http://64.94.110.11/
A RIPE whois lookup; http://www.ripe.net/whois?form_type=simple...o_search=Search
#7 OFFLINE
Posted 09 July 2006 - 03:37 PM
shnaggletooth, on Jul 8 2006, 03:22 PM, said:
PeerGuardian describes the link you provided as "ServerBeach: Emule Servers and Kaaza Fakes". I downloaded the CCleaner program from this link: http://www.filehippo...nload_ccleaner/, and chose the latest version.
Shnaggletooth
Shnaggletooth
Ive tried those 2 links + looks same as the 1 Ive dwnlded - just fine
maybe try Ad-Aware AV or SpyBot + Ewido to see IF you've got a Malware type ReDirect Trojan or wutever it is ?















