Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

IE10 on Win 7 bug


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE Samal48

Samal48

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 07:58 PM

After updating to IE10 on Win 7 certain websites (ex. Bing, Twitter, others) will not load properly after running Ccleaner. This problem did not occur on IE9. After trying everything I could think of the only solution is to delete cookies and data under Internet Options. After that the only way you can use Ccleaner without the error reoccurring is if you uncheck everything under internet explorer on it. I tried leaving cookies checked since I can delete everything else with Internet Options and keep my exceptions but the error still occurred.

#2 OFFLINE mta

mta

    Forum Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 28 February 2013 - 09:34 PM

try just unticking Index.dat files

Backup now & backup often.
It's your digital life - protect it with a backup.
Three things are certain; birth, death and loss of data. You control the last.


#3 OFFLINE Samal48

Samal48

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 11:17 PM

I tried just unticking Index.dat first. Then unchecked one more at a time until only cookies remained but the errors still occurred unless everything was unchecked. It's not a huge inconvenience as Firefox works fine but I prefer IE and the problem was not present on IE9. It was actually a relief to finally pinpoint Ccleaner as the cause as I tried a ton of different things before that.

#4 OFFLINE touch

touch

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:16 AM

I have same problem. with such websites ( trip.taobao.com weibo.com).

#5 OFFLINE jessie

jessie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 04:58 PM

I had the same problem with IE10 on Win7 too.
I wondered why I could not get things to work on my banks website after I ran CC
hope this issue is figured out

#6 OFFLINE jessie

jessie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:52 PM

More info onto my last post as it relates to Win7 IE10

It looks like in IE10 the index.dat files are now named 'container.dat' instead, and I can see in the half dozen places where there was an index.dat file it was 'replaced' with a container dat ...interesting. Also I notice that that in CCleaner IE tab right clicking on the index.dat listing, and clicking the Analyze button, no data shows up for it anymore.

I noticed to edit my message here properly I had to put this Piriform website in Compatibility Mode in order for things to work right.
My bank works better in Compatibility Mode too...
...I can't tell if the problem is a Compatibility Mode issue with all these websites as they relate to working properly with IE10 - I just don't know it's too soon to tell, yet.

I don't think ..at this point with CCleaner v3.28.1913 the index.dat rather now called container.dat files, are getting cleaned anymore!

#7 OFFLINE Alan_B

Alan_B

    Super Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:40 AM

It looks like in IE10 the index.dat files are now named 'container.dat' instead

In the past Microsoft were not above using Open Source software.
I wonder if they have also borrowed from Firefox the use of the plugin-container,exe.

#8 OFFLINE hazelnut

hazelnut

    try to stay calm

  • Moderators
  • 12,848 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Huddersfield uk

Posted 07 March 2013 - 06:16 AM

Comprehensive list here of where things are stored in IE10 (scroll down a bit)

http://computerforen...orensics-part-2
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND HERE

http://www.piriform.com/docs

#9 OFFLINE jessie

jessie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:47 PM

When it comes to Windows 7 and IE10, is it correct to assume that the coders are aware that it's not currently cleaning IE10 properly and are working on it? ...and when they are done the goal is that CCleaner will soon be able to clear all areas of IE just as thoroughly as it did before, especially! clear all the areas that the previous index.dat files reign took care of but now clean them within their new name and environment. Are those assumptions correct ?

In the meantime is okay to use CCleaner as long as we uncheck all the boxes under the Internet Explorer header?

Thank you much.

#10 OFFLINE Nergal

Nergal

    Volunteer CCleaner Demon/Post Meddler

  • Moderators
  • 6,295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Get off my Lawn, y'darn kids!
  • Interests:being grumpier
    Laughing
    Crying
    Sleep comes Later though.

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:03 PM

Jessie, that assumption can be made, based on the fact that the developer team reads all threads (though next-to-never comments). While we may see the fix in .29 I, and no one else either, have no inside information on the actual goings on.
ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION
DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.
Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)
ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND AT www.piriform.com/docs
Link to Winapp2.ini explanation

#11 OFFLINE Samal48

Samal48

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 March 2013 - 07:04 PM

This problem appears to have been corrected by the new 4.0 release. Well done.

#12 OFFLINE andycleaner

andycleaner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 March 2013 - 09:06 AM

I am surprised that this has been reported as fixed in Windows 7, because the bug persists in Windows 8 with version 4.00.4064.

Please see http://forum.pirifor...showtopic=37836. I thought the CNBC webpage allows one to consistently reproduce the problem (you can see exactly what not loading properly means).

#13 OFFLINE Nergal

Nergal

    Volunteer CCleaner Demon/Post Meddler

  • Moderators
  • 6,295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Get off my Lawn, y'darn kids!
  • Interests:being grumpier
    Laughing
    Crying
    Sleep comes Later though.

Posted 27 March 2013 - 01:49 PM

as I stated in that thread

this is actually a long running bug in Internet Explorer, it occurs with many cleaners. IIRC it has to do with index.dat corruption, or history can't remember and maybe has to do with IE being set to delete temporary files after last window is closed. Try to uncheck index.dat in ccleaner and if that doesn't work uncheck history.


ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION
DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.
Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)
ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND AT www.piriform.com/docs
Link to Winapp2.ini explanation

#14 OFFLINE touch

touch

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 April 2013 - 10:21 PM

weibo.com will not load properly after running Ccleaner 4.0

#15 OFFLINE touch

touch

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 April 2013 - 10:27 PM

I am surprised that this has been reported as fixed in Windows 7, because the bug persists in Windows 8 with version 4.00.4064.

Please see http://forum.pirifor...showtopic=37836. I thought the CNBC webpage allows one to consistently reproduce the problem (you can see exactly what not loading properly means).

Not fix at all

#16 OFFLINE touch

touch

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:04 AM

After updating to IE10 on Win 7 certain websites (ex. Bing, Twitter, others) will not load properly after running Ccleaner. This problem did not occur on IE9. After trying everything I could think of the only solution is to delete cookies and data under Internet Options. After that the only way you can use Ccleaner without the error reoccurring is if you uncheck everything under internet explorer on it. I tried leaving cookies checked since I can delete everything else with Internet Options and keep my exceptions but the error still occurred.

This problem is not fixed completely in Cclean 4.00

#17 OFFLINE Nergal

Nergal

    Volunteer CCleaner Demon/Post Meddler

  • Moderators
  • 6,295 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Get off my Lawn, y'darn kids!
  • Interests:being grumpier
    Laughing
    Crying
    Sleep comes Later though.

Posted 04 April 2013 - 10:27 AM

touch you made that clear in your last three, posts. It is frowned upon to post as your are (triple posting as of now).
please read my explanation in the post right before your first of this batch of three.
ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION
DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.
Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)
ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND AT www.piriform.com/docs
Link to Winapp2.ini explanation

#18 OFFLINE Samal48

Samal48

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 04:35 AM

Yes it seems I spoke too soon. While most of the old sites seem to work after the 4.0 release, I have noticed a few new problems. Bing will only load correctly after using CCleaner when there is a stationary background. When it has a moving or video background, it will not load. A few live scoreboard sites will also not work correctly. It seems it is usually adobe flash player or a similar application that has the problem loading.

#19 OFFLINE touch

touch

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:26 AM

Yes it seems I spoke too soon. While most of the old sites seem to work after the 4.0 release, I have noticed a few new problems. Bing will only load correctly after using CCleaner when there is a stationary background. When it has a moving or video background, it will not load. A few live scoreboard sites will also not work correctly. It seems it is usually adobe flash player or a similar application that has the problem loading.

I think there is a problem with "cookies and website data" .website will be load normally after delete cookies and website data by IE 10

#20 OFFLINE Samal48

Samal48

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:12 PM

After the new IE10 update today, Twitter once again does not load properly after running CCleaner. Haven't noticed any other site problems yet.