Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

Added option to skip User Account Control (UAC) warning.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE PiriFan

PiriFan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 28 May 2012 - 10:07 PM

In the changelog for the latest version it states:

v3.19.1721 (24 May 2012) - Added option to skip User Account Control (UAC) warning.

I do not see this option and when I click on the CCleaner I still get the Windows 7 popup to open program. Please let me know if I understand this correctly or if there is an option to select to disable the Windows 7 warning when I open CCleaner. Thanks.

#2 OFFLINE nikki605

nikki605

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, FL

Posted 29 May 2012 - 07:44 AM

Yes, it's there.

Click on Options, then Advanced and use the scroll bar to get to the bottom of the list of options. It is the next to the last option check box.

However, on my Win7 laptop, I still get the UAC warning with the new option checked.
WinXP Pro SP3 Desktop (Speccy) - Win7 Pro x64 SP1 Laptop (Speccy) - WinXP Pro SP3 Laptop (Speccy)

#3 OFFLINE PiriFan

PiriFan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 11:44 AM

Hmm I do not have that option and I have the latest CCleaner free version. You must have a small resolution if you need scrollbars, I can see the whole program without scrollbars.

#4 OFFLINE pwillener

pwillener

    ドラえもん

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo, Japan

Posted 31 May 2012 - 04:27 AM

It's the 2nd option from the bottom:
[attachment=6304:suac.PNG]

#5 OFFLINE PiriFan

PiriFan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 01:28 AM

how the heck did I miss that when it is right in my face? lol thanks for the screenshot. This feature works too! I wish all programs would offer that option since m$ won't

EDIT

Oh wait this effects all programs? Hmm, is it possible to make it only limit that option for CCleaner or maybe a more advanced feature to display a list to select which programs skip UAC warning?

#6 OFFLINE Koolch

Koolch

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 01:12 AM

this otion to skip uac (a very welcomed feature) works great on my 2008r2 desktop, but not at all on my w7 x64 desktop. I have dual boot pc. Anyone know what I am missing in w7 machine?

#7 OFFLINE Alan_B

Alan_B

    Super Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted 15 June 2012 - 02:54 AM

Perhaps skip uac is defective on 64 bits.

Does anyone know different ?

#8 OFFLINE Nergal

Nergal

    Volunteer CCleaner Demon/Post Meddler

  • Moderators
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Get off my Lawn, y'darn kids!
  • Interests:being grumpier
    Laughing
    Crying
    Sleep comes Later though.

Posted 15 June 2012 - 10:55 AM

I believe that is the case but couldn't find the post that I read that said that
ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION
DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.
Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)
ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND AT www.piriform.com/docs
Link to Winapp2.ini explanation

#9 OFFLINE aittersu

aittersu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 21 June 2012 - 07:53 AM

This option to skip User Account Control message is great.

However, I have one question: I thought this option would be saved in the ccleaner.ini-file, but this is not the case.
Can anyone tell me where this setting is stored?

#10 OFFLINE Alan_B

Alan_B

    Super Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted 21 June 2012 - 09:47 AM

Probably stored by UAC in Windows because UAC is not Portable.

Post #5 above observes :-

Oh wait this effects all programs? Hmm, is it possible to make it only limit that option for CCleaner or maybe a more advanced feature to display a list to select which programs skip UAC warning?


There is no way that a non-Piriform program would benefit from a CCleaner.ini setting, so I guess UAC itself has been "tamed".

#11 OFFLINE aittersu

aittersu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 01:42 AM

I found out already, it is done by a scheduled task, when "skip User Account Control message" is activated within ccleaner, a scheduled task is created.
When i turn off "skip User Account Control message", the scheduled task is also gone..

#12 OFFLINE dosser

dosser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 12:40 PM

No way to get working "skip User Account Control (UAC) warning" on some PC's

User Account Control (UAC) warning always pops up when starting ccleaner v3.23.1823

I unstalled ccleaner and reinstalled it. No change


OS: Windows 7 x64 german


Hope someone has a solution. It's really anoying.

#13 OFFLINE Nergal

Nergal

    Volunteer CCleaner Demon/Post Meddler

  • Moderators
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Get off my Lawn, y'darn kids!
  • Interests:being grumpier
    Laughing
    Crying
    Sleep comes Later though.

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:00 PM

dosser you have a topic you need to not post the same issue in somebody else's thread.


http://forum.pirifor...showtopic=36106
ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION
DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.
Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)
ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND AT www.piriform.com/docs
Link to Winapp2.ini explanation