Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

What files does CCleaner delete when....


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE tkmops

tkmops

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 August 2011 - 12:49 PM

I've read the Quickie CCleaner FAQ, and the registry information thread, and read through the 'Using CCleaner web site, but
I can't seem to find an answer to my question.

I've used CCleaner for a few years now, but always with the default settings...but I'm curious about...

When using the 'cleaner' mode, what files does CCleaner clean on the 'Applications' tab?
I understand the the ones like browser cache, history, cookies, etc...but what files are deleted for Applications...
for example Adobe Reader, or Nero Burning ROM, or under Internet...Bit Torrent, uTorrent, or under Multimedia...
Quicktime player, Windows media player, or under Utilities....WinRAR, windows defender, or under Windows...MS wordpad,
RegEdit. When clicking any of those boxes, what will CCleaner be deleting? Does it delete just known junk files, and not
anything important? It doesn't delete the program itself, right?

Thanks!

#2 OFFLINE kroozer

kroozer

    hi

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 06 August 2011 - 12:54 PM

. . . delete just known junk files, and not anything important? It doesn't delete the program itself, right?

Yes. You presume correctly. :)

#3 OFFLINE Winapp2.ini

Winapp2.ini

    Friendly neighborhood addon manager

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,958 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York
  • Interests:Sleeping

Posted 06 August 2011 - 02:35 PM

It deletes junk files associated with the program.

Remember, you can always right click on an entry and analyze it to see what it cleans without deleting anything :)

#4 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,719 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 07 August 2011 - 02:33 AM

you can always right click on an entry and analyze it to see what it cleans without deleting anything

This works well with cleaning routines that remove physical junk files, however it won't show anything if there's registry MRU's to be cleaned.

Piriform software help documentation.

CCleaner is NOT a malware removal tool.

Don't PM me for advice or help! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.


#5 OFFLINE Winapp2.ini

Winapp2.ini

    Friendly neighborhood addon manager

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,958 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York
  • Interests:Sleeping

Posted 07 August 2011 - 02:37 AM

That is true.

Well the Quickie CCleaner FAQ does mention how to get the embedded scripts, so you can see for yourself what any option you'd like cleans, both file and registry.

#6 OFFLINE tech949

tech949

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 August 2011 - 01:00 PM

I tried to repair my registry errors using ccleaner with success only to find that all the errors were back when I rebooted. I have VISTA sp2 and can only access my computer thru SAFE MODE. I repeated this process many times with the same result. I look at C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG and all the registry hive files have not changed in size or date. Can anybody tell me what files are being changed by ccleaner when it tells me it fixed all the errors?

#7 OFFLINE Winapp2.ini

Winapp2.ini

    Friendly neighborhood addon manager

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,958 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York
  • Interests:Sleeping

Posted 14 August 2011 - 01:14 PM

I tried to repair my registry errors using ccleaner with success only to find that all the errors were back when I rebooted. I have VISTA sp2 and can only access my computer thru SAFE MODE. I repeated this process many times with the same result. I look at C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG and all the registry hive files have not changed in size or date. Can anybody tell me what files are being changed by ccleaner when it tells me it fixed all the errors?


You're going to need to open your own thread for this.