Return to Piriform.com

Photo

Secure deletion of all deleted files- Recuva or Ccleaner?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE junbug

junbug

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 31 August 2010 - 02:09 AM

Hi I have a question regarding both Recuva and Ccleaner. I am new to both this forum and Recuva, and I apologize if my frustration comes across as inappropriate regarding the nature of this Recuva forum.
I am confused over which program- Ccleaner or Recuva- has the ability to securely delete (overwrite) ALL of the already deleted files (leftovers) found on my computer (I believe that the sore reason of Deleting anything is to completely Delete).

It is my hope that a someone here with enough knowledge of both of the products could lend me a hand.
I would really appreciate your help.

My frustration is a result of conflicting (to my understanding) description given out by Piriform-

Piriform's description on Ccleaner's <Wipe Free Space> option:
"When you delete a file, Windows removes the reference to that file, but doesn't delete the actual data that made up the file on your hard drive. Over time, this data will be overwritten as Windows writes new files to that area of the drive. This means that, given the right software, someone could reconstruct all or parts of files that you've deleted. For privacy and security reasons, you can set CCleaner to wipe the free areas of your hard disk so that deleted files cannot be recovered."

Piriform's info on Ccleaner's <Secure file deletion> option:

"Note: CCleaner can only securely delete files which have not yet been deleted from the Recycle Bin. If you have already delete files insecurely (for example, using Windows Explorer), you can delete them securely using Recuva."