Jump to content


Virus from Yahoo News


7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   login123

    blanko

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,778 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 26 January 2010 - 06:03 PM

Clicked on a link in Yahoo news section about the Dalai Lama. About as innocent as a link can get. Avast triggered, the file was not executed, no harm done. Here is the avast log. ESET online is running now.
1/26/2010 6:40:13 AM	SYSTEM	1640	Sign of "JS:Pdfka-TW [Expl]" has been found in "http://ditrnbibarsp.com/kav/kav1.exe/oHdfbc1b88V0100f070006Rd9f71314102T94e2cf1f201l0409K57868056317" file.


Avast and Powershadow had my back. Use a virtualizer app!
The SLIM version is always released a bit after any new version; when it is it will be HERE :-)

#2 OFFLINE   redhawk

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Beer and DVDs

Posted 26 January 2010 - 07:34 PM

According to my ISP "ditrnbibarsp.com" doesn't exist so whatever this code was for it wouldn't had worked anyway.

Richard S.

#3 OFFLINE   marmite

    Relax, it's only ones and zeros!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 877 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 26 January 2010 - 07:53 PM

View Postredhawk, on Jan 26 2010, 07:34 PM, said:

According to my ISP "ditrnbibarsp.com" doesn't exist so whatever this code was for it wouldn't had worked anyway.
Really? I can ping it at 216.146.35.99, for which whois lists contact info as Manchester UK.

Edited: but a few minutes later I can't ping it at all!

#4 OFFLINE   marmite

    Relax, it's only ones and zeros!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 877 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 26 January 2010 - 08:06 PM

Ah, just done a reverse look-up on that IP and it comes up: 216.146.35.99 is nx-redir.dyndnsinternetguide.com.

I use dyndns' dns servers ... ignore my previous post methinks! I can't find any look-up info for that domain.

#5 OFFLINE   redhawk

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Beer and DVDs

Posted 26 January 2010 - 09:06 PM

It's probably been blacklisted by my ISP then:

> ditrnbibarsp.com
Server: cache1.service.virginmedia.net
Address: 194.168.4.100

*** cache1.service.virginmedia.net can't find ditrnbibarsp.com: Non-existent domain
>

Richard S.

#6 OFFLINE   login123

    blanko

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,778 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 27 January 2010 - 02:56 AM

The original link in the yahoo news panel was gone when I got hooked back up to net about three minutes later. Looked for it on yahoo for a while, was just gone. Google has information about the url and the exe file. Whatever it was it woke up avast pretty quick.

Might that be Manchester, New Hampshire, USA?
The SLIM version is always released a bit after any new version; when it is it will be HERE :-)

#7 OFFLINE   kroozer

    Hi

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,024 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 27 January 2010 - 03:09 AM

I was getting that annoying popup selling phony malware detection when reading Yahoo comics, so started reading (the same) comics in comics.com
Malwarebytes, Avast, Defender, Spybot all report my pc is clean.

#8 ONLINE   Andavari

    Captain Spectacular

  • Moderators
  • 13,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shadow Moses

Posted 27 January 2010 - 01:30 PM

View Postredhawk, on Jan 26 2010, 03:06 PM, said:

It's probably been blacklisted by my ISP then:
Most likely and for very good reason. Here's the Norton Safe Web statistics of that bad site:
http://safeweb.norto...itrnbibarsp.com

Edit:
It's a good ideal to block that domain in the Windows HOSTS file.
Complexity of incoherent design.