![]() ![]() |
Nov 3 2009, 05:35 AM
Post
#1
|
|
|
Power Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 546 Joined: 26-February 08 From: Indonesia Member No.: 19,085 |
As a MBAM fan, what IOBIT security 360 did- was ashame !!. I posted like this at IOBIT forum and they deleted my thread
see at http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=29681. |
|
|
|
Nov 3 2009, 06:56 AM
Post
#2
|
|
![]() try to stay calm ![]() Group: Moderators Posts: 6,231 Joined: 6-May 05 From: Huddersfield uk Member No.: 1,555 |
Sounds like it may be the end for IOBIT.
As yet there doesn't seem to have been any explanation from them |
|
|
|
Nov 3 2009, 07:00 AM
Post
#3
|
|
|
Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 221 Joined: 12-May 09 Member No.: 28,636 |
yeah there's been a long talk about at wilders,also in iobit forum
|
|
|
|
Nov 3 2009, 08:53 AM
Post
#4
|
|
![]() Captain Spectacular ![]() Group: Moderators Posts: 10,473 Joined: 10-November 04 From: Earth Member No.: 26 |
I'm glad I never really liked their software enough to keep it installed. I wonder how many of their other titles are using stolen bits. Hopefully MBAM wipes them clean, along with any other vendor they've been stealing from. Imagine all the refunds they'll possibly have to give people they've sold software to, but since they're supposedly located in China good luck on that.
-------------------- Piriform Docs - Official documentation for Piriform software.
ERUNT · Macrium Reflect Free Edition · Paragon Rescue Kit Express |
|
|
|
Nov 5 2009, 01:46 AM
Post
#5
|
|
![]() GeekU Junior ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,251 Joined: 19-September 07 From: USA Member No.: 16,076 |
Link: http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=29772 I can't believe that even after MalwareBytes proved that IOBit did steal their database, and probably parts of databases from other vendors, IOBit is still denying the fact. Shame on you IOBit!
-------------------- Visit IcedTech: http://www.icedtech.blogspot.com/
|
|
|
|
Nov 5 2009, 02:08 AM
Post
#6
|
|
|
Power Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 546 Joined: 26-February 08 From: Indonesia Member No.: 19,085 |
Link: http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=29772 I can't believe that even after MalwareBytes proved that IOBit did steal their database, and probably parts of databases from other vendors, IOBit is still denying the fact. Shame on you IOBit! They should be. THIEF |
|
|
|
Nov 5 2009, 02:22 AM
Post
#7
|
|
![]() Crabz ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 768 Joined: 20-January 08 From: Cambridge, UK Member No.: 18,380 |
Really enjoyed reading that, Cheers for the link
-------------------- Taken to seriously
|
|
|
|
Nov 5 2009, 11:07 AM
Post
#8
|
|
|
Power Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 513 Joined: 27-July 06 From: Michigan Member No.: 6,135 |
Until recently, I really liked IObit's SmartDefrag product. I've since switched to Auslogics Disk Defrag (which is now better with V3), but would stop using SmartDefrag anyway because of this news. How shameful!
-------------------- ![]() |
|
|
|
Nov 5 2009, 11:23 AM
Post
#9
|
|
![]() Crabz ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 768 Joined: 20-January 08 From: Cambridge, UK Member No.: 18,380 |
QUOTE ("") Hi Sam,
On November 2, we learned of allegations of copyright infringement involving two popular security programs in our software catalog: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and IObit Security 360. We take all such accusations and copyright claims very seriously. Regardless of the details of any specific claim, we require that all copyright owners follow a specific process in reporting any violations of their intellectual property. Please see the CBS Interactive Software Copyright Notice for more information. http://upload.cnet.com/4370-21_5-499-111.html We are in communication with both of the affected parties in this recent incident and are actively working toward a resolution. For more information about the news regarding Malwarebytes Anti-Malware's claim against IObit Security 360, please see Elinor Mills' coverage of the story on CNET News: http://news.cnet.com/8301-27080_3-10389650-245.html Sincerely, Pauline -------------------- Taken to seriously
|
|
|
|
Nov 7 2009, 04:42 PM
Post
#10
|
|
![]() Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 271 Joined: 21-January 08 From: The twilight zone Member No.: 18,400 |
Assuming the accusations are correct, it makes me wonder how such a reputable company as Malwarebytes ,with such an experience as they have in software security, failed to avoid this allegedly criminal offence from happening to begin with ?
|
|
|
|
Nov 7 2009, 07:45 PM
Post
#11
|
|
![]() Captain Spectacular ![]() Group: Moderators Posts: 10,473 Joined: 10-November 04 From: Earth Member No.: 26 |
Assuming the accusations are correct, it makes me wonder how such a reputable company as Malwarebytes ,with such an experience as they have in software security, failed to avoid this allegedly criminal offence from happening to begin with ? If you read the post on the Malwarebytes' forum it details all about it. In a nutshell if they make their database super difficult to unlock not even MBAM itself would be able to access/read it. Still though they ought to be able to somehow lock it away from snooping eyes, especially from wannabees that can't make their own legit db. -------------------- Piriform Docs - Official documentation for Piriform software.
ERUNT · Macrium Reflect Free Edition · Paragon Rescue Kit Express |
|
|
|
Nov 7 2009, 08:05 PM
Post
#12
|
|
|
Power Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,221 Joined: 27-April 06 From: CT, USA Member No.: 4,899 |
There was probably some reverse engineering going on on IOBit's end, and that's illegal.
AJ -------------------- Unofficial Ambassador to the Maximum PC Forums and Moderator of the Piriform Facebook page
|
|
|
|
Nov 7 2009, 08:08 PM
Post
#13
|
|
![]() Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 271 Joined: 21-January 08 From: The twilight zone Member No.: 18,400 |
If you read the post on the Malwarebytes' forum it details all about it. In a nutshell if they make their database super difficult to unlock not even MBAM itself would be able to access/read it. Still though they ought to be able to somehow lock it away from snooping eyes, especially from wannabees that can't make their own legit db. I have read the post but I still think exactly as you mentioned in your last sentence`s post. |
|
|
|
Nov 7 2009, 09:07 PM
Post
#14
|
|
![]() Power Member ![]() Group: Moderators Posts: 899 Joined: 9-October 08 Member No.: 23,856 |
Knowing how smart the MBAM guys are, am quite positive they did everything possible to stop people stealing the definitions in their database. Simple fact is, there are ways around everything if you are smart enough and try long enough.
-------------------- |
|
|
|
Nov 8 2009, 02:52 AM
Post
#15
|
|
![]() Super Hero ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,603 Joined: 17-December 04 From: England Member No.: 330 |
Love the way IOBit have pulled the free version from their site (New Version Available Soon lol) BUT the paid version can still be bought!
|
|
|
|
Nov 8 2009, 02:57 AM
Post
#16
|
|
![]() Power Member ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,352 Joined: 5-December 06 From: CT US Member No.: 8,895 |
Yeah I'm gonna buy that.
|
|
|
|
Nov 8 2009, 04:10 AM
Post
#17
|
|
![]() Super Hero ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,603 Joined: 17-December 04 From: England Member No.: 330 |
How about downloading a "Free 90-day Licensed AVG 8 Anti-virus Pro" from IOBit:
http://www.iobit.com/avg-com.html# Check where the download link points to |
|
|
|
Nov 8 2009, 04:32 AM
Post
#18
|
|
![]() Lets Get Dangerous ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,552 Joined: 28-October 06 From: QLD,Australia Member No.: 7,801 |
lol, what's up with that, it downloads is360, have they stolen AVG pro and merged it with their AV?
-------------------- |
|
|
|
Nov 8 2009, 06:37 AM
Post
#19
|
|
![]() Super Hero ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,603 Joined: 17-December 04 From: England Member No.: 330 |
lol, what's up with that, it downloads is360, have they stolen AVG pro and merged it with their AV? No, just trying to fool users into downloading their software. Just thought it put their morals into perspective (if they weren't already), there's also an animé porn links page that downloads their software (was posted on MBAM forum, won't link to it here). Seems they've been getting away with underhand tricks for a while but now they've pushed their luck to far and got caught. |
|
|
|
Nov 10 2009, 10:14 AM
Post
#20
|
|
![]() Lets Get Dangerous ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,552 Joined: 28-October 06 From: QLD,Australia Member No.: 7,801 |
I reported it to AVG, they arn't happy with IOBIt
QUOTE Hi William, Thanks for your email. This is something we take very seriously and I have passed this on to our managing director for further action. If you are looking to download a trial of AVG, I would strongly encourage you to do so using http://www.avg.com.au/download as opposed to any other link. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention, and please let us know if we can be of any further assistance. Kind regards Michael C<cut> Team Leader – Sales and Operations AVG (AU/NZ) Pty Ltd I got a second reply as well. QUOTE Hi William Thanks for your information about IoBit. I have passed it to our legal department in Europe who are very vigilant in following up trademark infringements and unauthorised usage of our products and trademarks. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. Regards, Peter C<cut> AVG (AU/NZ) Pty Ltd Australian & New Zealand Distributor of AVG Anti-Virus and Internet Security products -------------------- |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 8th February 2010 - 10:49 PM |