Piriform Community Forums: ad.yieldmanager.com - Piriform Community Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ad.yieldmanager.com Is this a virus?

#1 User is offline   Carolyn1 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 05-January 06

Posted 20 October 2009 - 12:30 AM

Just today, I started to get popups from ad.yieldmanager.com each time I open another page, whether in my Rogers email, or a website. I read in one forum that this is a virus. I ran a full scan using Norton, and I have run CCleaner, but still the popup continues. Any ideas?
0

#2 User is offline   Andavari 

  • Captain Spectacular
  • Icon
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 11,080
  • Joined: 10-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shadow Moses

Posted 20 October 2009 - 02:25 AM

It's a legit advertisement site! What it puts on your system is considered a tracking cookie. See the SiteAdvisor info about it here.

You can block it successfully via a HOSTS file like MVPS.org HOSTS File and with the ad blocker built into web browsers.
Piriform Internal Links:
Piriform Docs - Official documentation for Piriform software.
Solutions when CCleaner won't install.

External Links:
ERUNT · Macrium Reflect Free Edition · Paragon Rescue Kit Express
0

#3 User is offline   hazelnut 

  • try to stay calm
  • Icon
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 7,021
  • Joined: 06-May 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Huddersfield uk

Posted 20 October 2009 - 12:22 PM

In case you have a virus/malware problem please follow the steps here and post any logs in the Spyware hell part of the forum as soon as possible

http://forum.pirifor...showtopic=20120
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic