There was a very large post made in software today for the K-Lite Mega Kodec Pack, which is a free software package.
I was puzzled as to the why, before I realised the why.
The download link was Rapidshare, and if a member with a free account racks up enough downloads of an item he has stored on Rapidshare, then he/she will be presented with a Rapidshare Premium Account for no charge.
If you guys see any Rapidshare Links for software, report them please, as Corona did with this one, and don't use the download link.
The poster and his post have been removed.
Thanks
A new form of SPAM!
Started by DennisD, Sep 28 2009 09:43 PM
8 replies to this topic
#1 OFFLINE
Posted 28 September 2009 - 09:43 PM
The Legend Of Woody Guthrie
How To Get Into Safe Mode | Returnil 2008 | Sandboxie | ERUNT GUI | TestDisk | MiniTool Partition Wizard - Home Edition
How To Get Into Safe Mode | Returnil 2008 | Sandboxie | ERUNT GUI | TestDisk | MiniTool Partition Wizard - Home Edition
#2 OFFLINE
Posted 28 September 2009 - 11:20 PM
Perhaps ban rapidshare links?
No fate but what we make
#3 OFFLINE
Posted 28 September 2009 - 11:50 PM
To be honest I've never even heard of RapidShare till Dennis just mentioned it now. When I saw that huge honking double-spaced post/advert made by "Newbie" with a total of 1 posts to their history, I kind of suspected something was a tad weird. And what a ploy...use a well known online clean freebie codec pack to get more attention/hits.
That's why I stick to filehippo, folks.
Thanks for taking out the trash, Dennis!
That's why I stick to filehippo, folks.
Thanks for taking out the trash, Dennis!
#4 OFFLINE
Posted 29 September 2009 - 08:11 AM
ident, on Sep 28 2009, 05:20 PM, said:
Perhaps ban rapidshare links?
I use RapidShare for some of the very small files I've posted on here as an alternative to MediaFire and vice versa should one be out of order.
#6 OFFLINE
Posted 29 September 2009 - 10:51 AM
I personally like Deposit Files better than RapidShare, MediaFire, MegaUpload etc.
Website: www.icedrake.co.cc
YouTube: www.youtube.com/icedrake99
DeviantART: www.icedrake99.deviantart.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/icedrake99
YouTube: www.youtube.com/icedrake99
DeviantART: www.icedrake99.deviantart.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/icedrake99
#8 OFFLINE
Posted 29 September 2009 - 08:35 PM
Andavari, on Sep 29 2009, 08:11 AM, said:
I'd say no to that since RapidShare can be used legitimately, it would be like banning cars because someone once drove one while drunk, as an analogy.
Thats a good view of it. I was more thinking linking files here is not so much welcomed. But learn something new each day. I to also use rapidshare.
Guess we can't blame the site for stupid users. Althought they do intend to encourage it
No fate but what we make
#9 OFFLINE
Posted 30 September 2009 - 02:37 PM
Such spambots are prevalent in most forums. Just delete the sucker's account and post/s and things will be fine. No need to scrutinize file hosting sites.












