Jump to content


Just a heads-up


6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Corona

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 03 September 2009 - 11:28 AM

If he/she/it posts here, don't click on any links provided by any newbies named ChrisPark. It's a bot sending out a .scr virus (jpeg).

#2 OFFLINE   hazelnut

    try to stay calm

  • Moderators
  • 9,451 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Huddersfield uk

Posted 03 September 2009 - 11:34 AM

Right, eyes peeled everyone :)

Things like this can be reported to the mods and admins via the !Report button
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND HERE

http://www.piriform.com/docs

#3 OFFLINE   Icedrake

    Shazam!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,646 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Interests:Reading, using my computer, astronomy, physics, mathematics, etc.

Posted 03 September 2009 - 07:02 PM

Thanks Corona. That's why I never click on any links that a newbie gives in their post, until someone checks it out first. :)
Website: www.icedrake.co.cc
YouTube: www.youtube.com/icedrake99
DeviantART: www.icedrake99.deviantart.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/icedrake99

#4 OFFLINE   SpySentinel

    Advanced Member

  • Spyware Moderators
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The United States
  • Interests:Fighting Malware.

Posted 04 September 2009 - 12:32 AM

Thank you for letting us know.
Proud Graduate of GeekU - Learn how to remove malware

Posted Image
Unified Network of Instructors and Trained Eliminators

Posted Image

My help is always free, but if you can, please Posted Image to help me continue the fight against malware.

#5 OFFLINE   Corona

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 04 September 2009 - 12:44 PM

Someone at another forum made a small list of other message board forums that the bot posted at with the same exact message. Sort of like a new Victoria, eh?

#6 OFFLINE   Fluffy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire

Posted 07 September 2009 - 07:02 PM

Now that his cover has been blown..i.e Chris Park..surely he will just use another name.. Malcolm Ware for instance..
should we just watch out for noobies offering links.. :unsure: I know Hazelnut has spotted a few and dealt with them swiflty !!! :lol:

Fluff

#7 OFFLINE   Corona

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 07 September 2009 - 08:28 PM

Yeah, Hazelnut was stomping on them left and right not long ago. :D