Jump to content


Spam


13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bill2037

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio
  • Interests:LEO

Posted 10 July 2009 - 03:22 PM

I was sent the following in my personal messages. It looks like spam to me. Is this common on this forum? Is there a way to block further messages from this person. I have no idea who (s)he is.

Helloo ( From: victorian )
Hello
My name is miss Victoria i saw your
profile today on(forum.piriform.com)and became interested
in you,i will also like to know more about you,and i want you to send a mail to
my email address so that i can give you my picture for you to know whom l am. i
believe we can move from here.I am waiting for your mail to my em...
victorian is a member of the Members group and has 0 posts.
Sent on: Today, 07:08 AM

#2 OFFLINE   Alan_B

    Super Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted 10 July 2009 - 07:01 PM

Me too.

I viewed her/his profile. 5 people have already viewed.
He/Her must be desperate for love ! !

Alan

#3 OFFLINE   CTskifreak

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:CT, USA

Posted 10 July 2009 - 09:14 PM

Same here. Bill, I've been here a while and never have gotten a message like that. Wait for a moderator to see what we can do about it.

AJ
Unofficial Ambassador to the Maximum PC Forums and Moderator of the Piriform Facebook page

#4 OFFLINE   ^L^

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:in-my-world.at
  • Interests:music ...

Posted 10 July 2009 - 09:33 PM

Yes! "CClean" the Spambots in this Forum! ;o]
at least once a day : to think different ;o)

#5 OFFLINE   Icedrake

    Shazam!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,646 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Interests:Reading, using my computer, astronomy, physics, mathematics, etc.

Posted 10 July 2009 - 09:53 PM

Wtf I got that too! Added he/her to ignore list. :lol:
Website: www.icedrake.co.cc
YouTube: www.youtube.com/icedrake99
DeviantART: www.icedrake99.deviantart.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/icedrake99

#6 OFFLINE   Andavari

    Captain Spectacular

  • Moderators
  • 13,330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shadow Moses

Posted 11 July 2009 - 05:22 AM

View PostIcedrake, on Jul 10 2009, 03:53 PM, said:

Wtf I got that too! Added he/her to ignore list. :lol:
You don't need to add that member to your ignore list, he/she/it was banned.

If anyone ever gets any weird PM or spam PM just report it.
Complexity of incoherent design.

#7 OFFLINE   fireryone

    Lets Get Dangerous

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:QLD,Australia
  • Interests:PC, LOTRO

Posted 11 July 2009 - 08:34 AM

same here, just popped in to the forum to see how wide spread it was.
Poor lonely spammer who wants to send me a virus disguised as her picture.
fireryone



There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

#8 OFFLINE   Corona

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 11 July 2009 - 12:04 PM

When I saw that spam from Victoria in my PM I notified Hazelnut. She hasn't replied yet because she prolly figured I'd see these posts about all this on the forum. She was right.
I bet Victoria is a fat brick layer from Patterson New Jersey.

#9 OFFLINE   wmcintosh

    Advanced Member

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 12 July 2009 - 10:37 PM

Got it also.
William (or Bill)

#10 OFFLINE   pwillener

    ドラえもん

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 662 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo, Japan

Posted 13 July 2009 - 01:27 AM

Do we have this patch (PM flood control) installed: http://forums.invisionpower.com/topic/2829...p;#entry1794928 ?

I have received the same PM spam on numerous other forums; these guys are very active with their scam. They won't be stopped just by a user deletion; they will sign up as 'Judith' or whatever. (The sign-up and post IP address usually is 196.207.192.198, and the contact address is always something at Yahoo UK. And as we know Yahoo, they absolutely refuse to close these scam email accounts!)

#11 OFFLINE   mrmatt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 13 July 2009 - 07:09 AM

View Postpwillener, on Jul 13 2009, 02:27 AM, said:

Do we have this patch (PM flood control) installed: http://forums.invisionpower.com/topic/2829...p;#entry1794928 ?

I have received the same PM spam on numerous other forums; these guys are very active with their scam. They won't be stopped just by a user deletion; they will sign up as 'Judith' or whatever. (The sign-up and post IP address usually is 196.207.192.198, and the contact address is always something at Yahoo UK. And as we know Yahoo, they absolutely refuse to close these scam email accounts!)

I've received a PM from 'Victora' on 10th July. I must admit I don't visit these forums very often.

I notice her name is still on the members list.

#12 OFFLINE   pwillener

    ドラえもん

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 662 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo, Japan

Posted 13 July 2009 - 07:22 AM

View Postmrmatt, on Jul 13 2009, 04:09 PM, said:

I notice her name is still on the members list.
  • most likely it is not a "her"
  • most likely the user has been disabled from logging in


#13 OFFLINE   MrG

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 13 July 2009 - 11:58 AM

Server has been patched to prevent this happening again :)

#14 OFFLINE   Icedrake

    Shazam!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,646 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Interests:Reading, using my computer, astronomy, physics, mathematics, etc.

Posted 13 July 2009 - 12:11 PM

Thanks Mr.G! :)
Website: www.icedrake.co.cc
YouTube: www.youtube.com/icedrake99
DeviantART: www.icedrake99.deviantart.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/icedrake99