Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

Internet Download Manager Temporary Files !


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE Virus X

Virus X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 July 2009 - 04:39 AM

Hi Everyone
How are you all ?

This is my first post here and I hope it's useful :lol:

As all of us know that every program stores Temp files , And these Temp files can be very very huge maybe 200 MB and it might exceed 1GB :blink:

One of the most famous program which does this is " Internet Download Manager " . It stores very big temp files which are unnecessary
in the following path :

C:\Documents and Settings\Virus X\Application Data\IDM\

Of course " Virus X " is the user account name :D

I wish that CC would clean these files as they may allocate a lot of disk space
and thank you for your support and efforts

Note : you must make a warning message about this feature becuase if you have an unfinished downloads they would be deleted !
so you must get sure that you're not downloading anything and you don't have any unfinished download you want to resume later .

#2 OFFLINE ishan_rulz

ishan_rulz

    Lazy Perfectionist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore, India.
  • Interests:Everything. Nothing.

Posted 03 July 2009 - 06:25 AM

Hello.

Don't you think adding the whole "warning message" just for one app is a bit far fetched? And, you can add it yourself.
Options > Include. :)

IMHO, The user can't be all too careful, and it is very possible for him/her to delete the unfinished downloads.
Complexity is subjective.

#3 OFFLINE Virus X

Virus X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 July 2009 - 07:12 AM

Hello.

Don't you think adding the whole "warning message" just for one app is a bit far fetched? And, you can add it yourself.
Options > Include. :)

IMHO, The user can't be all too careful, and it is very possible for him/her to delete the unfinished downloads.

I know I cand add it by myself
and I already did

but believe me it will benefits many users
because they don't know about it

#4 OFFLINE DennisD

DennisD

    Member

  • Moderators
  • 9,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England: NE Coast

Posted 03 July 2009 - 07:58 AM

Internet Download Manager already has an entry in CCleaners winapp2.ini file, which you can download from here:

http://forum.pirifor...?showtopic=1110

Unzip the downloaded file into CCleaners Program Files folder, and you should then have an asterisked entry under "CCleaner\Applications".

For the obvious reason stated above by ishan, it doesn't include the download temp files, but thanks for pointing out their existence, which will help other users of this software.

[*Internet Download Manager]
LangSecRef=3022
Detect=HKLM\SOFTWARE\Internet Download Manager
Default=True
FileKey1=%Appdata%\IDM\UrlHistory.txt
FileKey2=%Appdata%\IDM\UrlHistory2.txt


EDIT: Welcome to the forum by the way.

#5 OFFLINE Virus X

Virus X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 July 2009 - 08:14 AM

Internet Download Manager already has an entry in CCleaners winapp2.ini file, which you can download from here:

http://forum.pirifor...?showtopic=1110

Unzip the downloaded file into CCleaners Program Files folder, and you should then have an asterisked entry under "CCleaner\Applications".

For the obvious reason stated above by ishan, it doesn't include the download temp files, but thanks for pointing out their existence, which will help other users of this software.



EDIT: Welcome to the forum by the way.


Thank you very much Dennis
for welcoming me and for explaining how to
add IDM to CC ;)

#6 OFFLINE left4dead

left4dead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 31 March 2010 - 10:19 PM

Internet Download Manager already has an entry in CCleaners winapp2.ini file, which you can download from here:

http://forum.pirifor...?showtopic=1110

Unzip the downloaded file into CCleaners Program Files folder, and you should then have an asterisked entry under "CCleaner\Applications".For the obvious reason stated above by ishan, it doesn't include the download temp files, but thanks for pointing out their existence, which will help other users of this software.


I added the following command (below) to CCleaner's winapp2.ini file but Internet Download Manager does NOT show up under "Applications." Can you please confirm this.

[*Internet Download Manager]
LangSecRef=3022
Detect=HKLM\SOFTWARE\Internet Download Manager
Default=True
FileKey1=%Appdata%\IDM\UrlHistory.txt
FileKey2=%Appdata%\IDM\UrlHistory2.txt


Also what are the commands to ADD the 'downloaded temp folder' to CCleaner?

Thanks.

#7 OFFLINE DennisD

DennisD

    Member

  • Moderators
  • 9,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England: NE Coast

Posted 02 April 2010 - 04:24 PM

Hi left4dead.

I can't confirm this I'm afraid, as I don't have Internet Download Manager.

Have you checked all sections of the "Applications" tab? I ask in case you checked only the "applications" section of that tab, and the entry may be in one of the other sections.

With any luck one of the other members will be using that software, and can offer some input. In the meantime, you could add that downloaded temp folder to CCleaners "Include" feature:

http://docs.piriform...rs-for-cleaning

There doesn't seem any point adding it to the winapp2.ini until we can find out why the entry you made isn't being picked up by CCleaner.

You don't mention which OS you use, so maybe there's a difference in the path to IDM's temp files.

Sorry I can't offer any more than that, but without Internet Download Manager on my PC, I'm only guessing.

#8 OFFLINE left4dead

left4dead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 02 April 2010 - 07:25 PM

Hi DennisD.

Thanks for your reply. Yes I checked all sections under the applications tab and IDM was not listed.

My OS is Windows 7 Home (x64).

Unfortunately I can't add the IDM's temp folder to CCleaner because Win 7 won't let me open up certain system folders like Application Data and Documents and Settings (some stupid security feature).

Hopefully someone can fix this issue because IDM leaves a lot of temp files behind.

Thanks.

#9 OFFLINE Alan_B

Alan_B

    Super Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted 03 April 2010 - 03:48 AM

CCleaner runs with your access privileges.

If the O.S. will not allow you to delete or see an item, neither will it allow CCleaner.

Alan

#10 OFFLINE Willy2

Willy2

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 04 April 2010 - 04:41 AM

Left4Dead,

As mentioned above you have added the text below (in italics) to the file ""Winapp2.ini"".

[*Internet Download Manager]
LangSecRef=3022
Detect=HKLM\SOFTWARE\Internet Download Manager
Default=True
FileKey1=%Appdata%\IDM\UrlHistory.txt
FileKey2=%Appdata%\IDM\UrlHistory2.txt

I could see one reason why it doesn't get detected by CCleaner. The online manual
http://docs.piriform...leaner-to-clean

states that each line in the .INI file must be separated by at least one blank line. Adding that extra blank line helped CC to detect Real Player Software information in the ""winapp2.INI"" file on my computer.

Edited by Willy2, 04 April 2010 - 05:24 AM.




#11 OFFLINE Willy2

Willy2

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 04 April 2010 - 11:47 AM

Left4Dead,

With some digging in the registry I think I found the answer to your problem. It seems the folks who made the program made some changes to the registry entries. The third line of the original text was:

""Detect=HKLM\SOFTWARE\Internet Download Manager""

1. Omit the word ""Internet"" and all spaces.
2. Change ""HKLM"" into ""HKCU"".

And then CC recognizes the entry in "Winapp2.ini". WARNING: I DO NOT guarantee that it will work perfectly for the full 100%. Use it at your own peril !!!

Edited by Willy2, 04 April 2010 - 11:55 AM.




#12 OFFLINE Willy2

Willy2

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 06 April 2010 - 05:32 PM

Left4dead,

You were experiencing problems making CC recognize Internet Download Manager (IDM). The solution provided above applies to IDM version 5.18. It's not clear which version the IDM entriy in the file ""Winapp2.ini"" refers to.

Perhaps you were using version 4.xx before and CC did recognize that version ? I think that the moderator called ""TwistedMetal"" is interested in the answer to this question as well. Then he can decide whether he needs to/must modify or add the/an IDM entry in the file called ""Winapp2.ini"".

Edited by Willy2, 06 April 2010 - 05:37 PM.




#13 OFFLINE left4dead

left4dead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 07:24 PM

Hi Willy2.

Thanks or your help. Your suggestion worked. CCleaner now recognizes IDM in the application tab. I'm using the current version and I believe that the entry in in 'Winappi2.ini' file applies to an older version of IDM.

Thanks again.

#14 OFFLINE Willy2

Willy2

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 06 April 2010 - 09:02 PM

Yes, I knew it would work because I downloaded version 5.18 and installed the program. It's truly a great program. But did you install one of the previous versions of IDM ??? Can you give the version number of the highest version number that recognized by CC ?? Because then Piriform forum moderator ""TwistedMetal"" is able to make a decision whether to adapt the file called ""Winnapp2.ini"" or not.

I am not quite sure who is responsible for either adding items to or the modifcation of "Winapp2.ini"": ""MrG"" or ""Twisted Metal"" ??

Edited by Willy2, 07 April 2010 - 01:30 AM.




#15 OFFLINE DennisD

DennisD

    Member

  • Moderators
  • 9,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England: NE Coast

Posted 08 April 2010 - 03:32 PM

That was a nice bit of detective work Willy.
:)

#16 OFFLINE Willy2

Willy2

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 13 April 2010 - 02:16 AM

DennisD,

Thank you. But IDM v5.18 registers itself in HKCU, HKU (in both with a lot of settings) and in HKLM (only a empty entry). So, the solution provided above seemed to be the best solution.