Jump to content


Cometbird


9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hazelnut

    try to stay calm

  • Moderators
  • 9,460 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Huddersfield uk

Posted 25 June 2009 - 06:26 AM

Anyone tried this browser yet.. Mozilla based


http://www.cometbird.com/
CCLEANER, RECUVA, DEFRAGGLER AND SPECCY DOCUMENTATION CAN BE FOUND HERE

http://www.piriform.com/docs

#2 OFFLINE   abu aufa

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 694 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ardhillah

Posted 25 June 2009 - 07:14 AM

View Posthazelnut, on Jun 25 2009, 01:26 PM, said:

Anyone tried this browser yet.. Mozilla based


http://www.cometbird.com/

haven't try yet but look like Firefox Clone.I am very comfort and satisfied what I had ( FF3,Opera & Chrome ).Not for now.

This is Review of Win based Browsers?

#3 OFFLINE   TeeJay3800

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Metro Detroit

Posted 25 June 2009 - 07:32 AM

I just installed it. I see no difference between Cometbird and Firefox...at all. I just installed the WOT addon and it thought I was using Firefox. I didn't just willingly install spyware did I?
Dell Latitude D600
Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1

Posted Image

#4 OFFLINE   ishan_rulz

    RaZoR

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore, India.
  • Interests:Geek, Music, Metal, Dreamer, Movies, Escapist, Curious, Hedonist, Books, Psychology, Trance, Eccentricity, Gadgets, Philosophy.

Posted 25 June 2009 - 09:24 AM

Review on CometBird

http://welloiledpc.com/cometbird.htm

It says, it starts up faster than Firefox. Still, I got with FF :)
Posted Image

#5 OFFLINE   Aethec

    Red Panda

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,714 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lausanne, Switzerland

Posted 25 June 2009 - 03:10 PM

Hm...Saying it is a FF clone only on the "Develop" page is not nice.
Piriform French translator

#6 OFFLINE   Corona

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US

Posted 25 June 2009 - 07:01 PM

Brought to you by the good people at CometCursor.

#7 OFFLINE   TeeJay3800

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Metro Detroit

Posted 25 June 2009 - 08:44 PM

Is this safe to be on my PC or not??

Being a "clone" of legitimate software is bothering me.
Dell Latitude D600
Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1

Posted Image

#8 OFFLINE   Andavari

    Captain Spectacular

  • Moderators
  • 13,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shadow Moses

Posted 25 June 2009 - 11:00 PM

I hadn't heard of it until the other day with a request to have CCleaner cleanse it.

View PostTeeJay3800, on Jun 25 2009, 02:44 PM, said:

Being a "clone" of legitimate software is bothering me.
SiteAdvisor lists the site as safe.

A clone of open source software is fine, think about it Netscape have used Mozilla's stuff for years now, as does Flock, etc. To ease your mind just upload the installer to one or all of these: virScan.org, Virus Total, Jotti
Complexity of incoherent design.

#9 OFFLINE   TeeJay3800

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Metro Detroit

Posted 25 June 2009 - 11:24 PM

View PostAndavari, on Jun 25 2009, 07:00 PM, said:

A clone of open source software is fine, think about it Netscape have used Mozilla's stuff for years now, as does Flock, etc. To ease your mind just upload the installer to one or all of these: virScan.org, Virus Total, Jotti
Good point. I usually scan files here: http://online.us.drweb.com. I guess I don't see the point of an app like Cometbird. It seems exactly like Firefox, with only a few very minor changes.
Dell Latitude D600
Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1

Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   TeeJay3800

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Metro Detroit

Posted 26 June 2009 - 01:06 AM

I did a scan on the installer on VirSCAN, and 3 of the engines found a trojan: http://www.virscan.org/report/8374e694a4a8...449c61135f.html. (could be false positives)
Dell Latitude D600
Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit SP1

Posted Image