Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

CCleaner Install Problem


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE CamarilloCA

CamarilloCA

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 02:31 PM

I have been using an older version of CCleaner - donated $20 and tried to download the newest version. I am an AOL user but closed out and logged in through Internet Explorer - still receiving the attached error message at the beginning of the Installation. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Mike in CA

#2 OFFLINE davey

davey

    Keep it simple !

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland U.S.A.

Posted 10 May 2008 - 03:26 PM

I have been using an older version of CCleaner - donated $20 and tried to download the newest version. I am an AOL user but closed out and logged in through Internet Explorer - still receiving the attached error message at the beginning of the Installation. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Mike in CA

Hello CA,
Are you logged on as Administrator.
This will cause problems if not.
:) davey

#3 OFFLINE davey

davey

    Keep it simple !

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland U.S.A.

Posted 12 May 2008 - 04:33 AM

Hello CA,
Are you logged on as Administrator.
This will cause problems if not.
:) davey

05:33 A.M. Eastern daylight saving time May 12,2008
EDIT Do what is explained in this link before anything else.
http://forum.pirifor...?showtopic=5739 Solutions for when CCleaner won't install

Don't forget to reboot before trying to install again.
If your MS Visual Basic programs were corrupted,That would also explain why CCleaner stopped running correctly.

C++ RUNTIMES MAY BE NEEDED ALSO.
If the C++ runtimes are needed they are as follows.

Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86)
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Windows 2000; Windows Server 2003; Windows Vista; Windows XP

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Windows 2000 Service Pack 4; Windows Server 2003; Windows Vista; Windows XP

Edited by davey, 12 May 2008 - 07:46 AM.


#4 OFFLINE CamarilloCA

CamarilloCA

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 May 2008 - 09:28 PM

Thanks Davey - the MS Visual Basic programs must have been corrupted. It installed now. Thanks for your help! Mike



05:33 A.M. Eastern daylight saving time May 12,2008
EDIT Do what is explained in this link before anything else.
http://forum.pirifor...?showtopic=5739 Solutions for when CCleaner won't install

Don't forget to reboot before trying to install again.
If your MS Visual Basic programs were corrupted,That would also explain why CCleaner stopped running correctly.

C++ RUNTIMES MAY BE NEEDED ALSO.
If the C++ runtimes are needed they are as follows.

Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86)
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Windows 2000; Windows Server 2003; Windows Vista; Windows XP

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Windows 2000 Service Pack 4; Windows Server 2003; Windows Vista; Windows XP



#5 OFFLINE Keithuk

Keithuk

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire, England
  • Interests:Programming in Visual Basic.

Posted 13 May 2008 - 06:58 AM

If your MS Visual Basic programs were corrupted,That would also explain why CCleaner stopped running correctly.

As I've said before CCleaner isn't made with VB.

Thanks Davey - the MS Visual Basic programs must have been corrupted. It installed now.

Thats very unusual. ;)
[b]Keith

Windows XP 2002 SP3
IE 7.0

Martin2k

Rorshach112 is the best

#6 OFFLINE davey

davey

    Keep it simple !

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland U.S.A.

Posted 13 May 2008 - 11:35 PM

As I've said before CCleaner isn't made with VB.

Thats very unusual. ;)

Not unusual if the installer uses VB.
I have no idea what his original CCleaner version was but if it was old enough it could have been VB.
:) davey

Edited by davey, 13 May 2008 - 11:55 PM.


#7 OFFLINE Keithuk

Keithuk

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire, England
  • Interests:Programming in Visual Basic.

Posted 14 May 2008 - 07:34 AM

Not unusual if the installer uses VB.

Installers don't use VB Davey. If they did and you didn't have Msvbvm60.dll in your system then you would get an installer error with this message. ;)
[b]Keith

Windows XP 2002 SP3
IE 7.0

Martin2k

Rorshach112 is the best

#8 OFFLINE davey

davey

    Keep it simple !

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland U.S.A.

Posted 14 May 2008 - 08:32 AM

Installers don't use VB Davey. If they did and you didn't have Msvbvm60.dll in your system then you would get an installer error with this message. ;)

That is exactly what we are dealing with in the description of this topic.
:) davey

#9 OFFLINE Keithuk

Keithuk

    Power Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire, England
  • Interests:Programming in Visual Basic.

Posted 14 May 2008 - 11:21 AM

That is exactly what we are dealing with in the description of this topic.
:) davey

Not exactly Davey.

I've asked MrG when CCleaner changed over to C++ and he says

With the v2.0 release, everything went all C++

;)
[b]Keith

Windows XP 2002 SP3
IE 7.0

Martin2k

Rorshach112 is the best

#10 OFFLINE davey

davey

    Keep it simple !

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland U.S.A.

Posted 14 May 2008 - 12:13 PM

Not exactly Davey.

I've asked MrG when CCleaner changed over to C++ and he says
;)

Yes,you keep talking about CCleaner.I am talking about the Installer.
You did not have to ask MrG .It's history.So is VB in Installers.
:) davey