Jump to content

Return to Piriform.com

Photo

CCleaner compatability


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE jason321

jason321

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 November 2007 - 11:56 AM

Hi
I am not very knowledgable with regards all things IT so could please you answer this for me.

I recently suffered a major drive crash, and was told this was possibly due to running a number of programs that may conflict.

I was running Norton Internet security, CCleaner, Spybot S&D, Adaware. (not simultaneously but at different times).

I am now using AVG Internet security, and would like to still run CCleaner.

Will these programs conflict?

Is it likely that conflicts contributed to the drive crash?

#2 OFFLINE JDPower

JDPower

    May contain traces of sarcasm

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 30 November 2007 - 07:18 PM

CCleaner won't conflict with any of them :)

#3 OFFLINE pwillener

pwillener

    ドラえもん

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo, Japan

Posted 03 December 2007 - 02:35 AM

I was running Norton Internet security...

I am now using AVG Internet security...

Is it likely that conflicts contributed to the drive crash?

Did you uninstall Norton before installing AVG? These two could possibly conflict with each other. Make sure that Norton is 100% removed from your system, or it will likely crash again.

#4 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 03 December 2007 - 08:02 AM

Make sure that Norton is 100% removed from your system.

Indeed. That may however require downloading the Norton Removal Tool, as the uninstallation of Symantec's Norton software products is bound to leave many registry entries and files on the system.

Piriform software help documentation is available at: http://www.piriform.com/docs

 

Don't PM me for advice! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.


#5 OFFLINE MikeW

MikeW

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 03 December 2007 - 08:41 AM

There is a known conflict with Symantec products and Spybot teat timer.

Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit - IE11 - MSE - Mbam pro


#6 OFFLINE Andavari

Andavari

    .

  • Moderators
  • 16,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.S.A.

Posted 03 December 2007 - 12:14 PM

There is a known conflict with Symantec products and Spybot teat timer.

That and Spybot should have a definition for Bloatware, "warning bloat detected." :lol:

Piriform software help documentation is available at: http://www.piriform.com/docs

 

Don't PM me for advice! I'll only ask you to read forum rule #15.