Jump to content


Stop Badware?


3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Humpty

    Super Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,125 posts

Posted 10 September 2007 - 01:12 PM

Typed "New GUI for JK Defrag" into Google search with the first result below.
[attachment=1845:CCleaner.JPG]
On clicking the link a warning is thrown up.
[attachment=1846:Warning.JPG]

#2 OFFLINE   CraigMartin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 September 2007 - 02:35 PM

I noticed that yesterday Humpty. I think it's the 'lofiversion' in the url address, is the culprit.

I wonder why this is?

#3 OFFLINE   JDPower

    Cydonian Knight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,952 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 10 September 2007 - 09:49 PM

View PostHumpty, on Sep 10 2007, 02:12 PM, said:

Typed "New GUI for JK Defrag" into Google search with the first result below.
Attachment CCleaner.JPG
On clicking the link a warning is thrown up.
Attachment Warning.JPG
And when you continue on to the link it's clean. I've never seen that warning on Google before, here's there info page about it:

http://www.google.co.uk/support/bin/answer...m=3&ct=help

#4 OFFLINE   Andavari

    Captain Spectacular

  • Moderators
  • 13,330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shadow Moses

Posted 11 September 2007 - 01:28 AM

View PostJDPower, on Sep 10 2007, 04:49 PM, said:

I've never seen that warning on Google before
I knew Google had some protections put in place, however like you I've never seen that warning before either. In any event we know it's completely bogus as Piriform.com is of no threat.

I did notice they have a link for site owners to have their wrongly listed sites removed from that listing.
Complexity of incoherent design.