Failed to scan c: not enough storage is available to process this command

Mtang78

I am trying to use Recuva (I am new at this), to undelete photos that were mistakenly deleted from my hard drive but I keep getting an error message that there is not enough storage space. This appears after the scan is done and does not show any files. What am I doing wrong?

I never got to the point where it asked where I wanted Recuva to save anything it finds.  That is the problem. 

My PC Info/Specs:

Processor:  AMD Athlon XP 1.09 GHz

RAM:  2.00 GB

System Type:  32-bit Operating System running Windows 7 Home Premium with Service Pack 1

C Drive Capacity:  232 GB

Free Space:  88.3 GB

Error Message from Recuva:  "Failed to scan the following drives:  C:: Not enough storage is available to process this command."

The scan does not complete.  It never gets to the point where I choose which files I want to keep and indicate where I want it to put them - which would be on a flash drive.

Any ideas?  Is my PC too old or not enough RAM or what?  From what I have read on these forums, Recuva doesn't require "disk space" to scan the drives.  So, I really don't understand what to do here.  Thanks much for your help.

I still need help with this.  I wish I could contact a live person at Recuva.  Apparently no one understands this issue or else I am not explaining it correctly.  I keep getting an error message WHILE SCANNING that says:  "Failed to scan the following drives:  C:: Not enough storage is available to process this command."  It will not let me scan my C drive.  I appreciate any help with this.  Thanks much!

• Moderators

I don't think that any of us knows what the problem is. You're not the only one to hit this.

I have been scanning a 250 gb disk with originally 1 gb ram for years without hitting this problem.