CCleaner Vs. Google Chrome Incognito for Deleting Cached Images

vectra2000

I've been a daily user of CCleaner for many years, but this is my first time in the forums, so hello, and thank you in advance for any help you can provide. I just bought a refurbished PC with a fresh install oh WINXP, Service Pack 3. I use Google Chrome as my browser. I like the Incognito mode for the concept that it reduces my traces of browsing and somewhat protects my privacy. But I have always wondered if images remain on my PC somehow.

Let's say I am browsing a site with hundreds or thousands of thumbnail pictures and I use the regular, non-Incognito version of Chrome. I know that the images are cached and are securely deleted when I run CCleaner (right?). But what about Incognito mode? Are the images securely deleted by either Chrome OR CCleaner? Were they ever cached in the first place? Were they "deleted" but still recoverable because they weren't securley deleting with multiple wipes like CCleaner uses?

I understand this question may belong in a Google Chrome forum instead of a CCleaner forum, but I have tried there with limited results. I was wondering if any of the people in this forum have knowledge of Incognito browsing as it relates to CCleaner.

Incognito mode (browse in private)

Chrome probably loads cache to RAM so the files won't appear on HDD. I don't have Chrome installed so can't test, but if Chrome does load them (and loads them on HDD, not RAM), it probably deletes them after you close Chrome/change back to normal browsing.

IMO in normal browsing CCleaner should clean Chrome cache/files properly.

Edited by nodles