Drive Wipe with CCleaner, easy to recover w/ Recuva

vjg1

I know that this topic has been explored in the past, to some extent, but I felt the need to open a new thread with more details, and relating to the latest versions of the software.

OK, I have been using Ccleaner for many many years, and I just love the product.  I run it on all of my PCs, on a regular basis, and on an occasional basis, I select wipe free space witch takes considerably more time to run, but gives me extra piece of mind, at least I thought.

I am in the process of giving away a 32GB SanDisk micro SDHC UDH-1 card.  I had a couple hundred files on the card.  Using a Win7 pc, I deleted all of the files and reformatted the card.  I then ran ccleaner (latest version) selected tools-Drive Wiper to securely erase the contents of the drive. 

First Run:  I Chose:   Wipe: Entire Drive     Security: Complex Overwrite (7 Passes)

Process Completed successfully - Ran Recuva, and was able to restore ALL of the files perfectly.

Photos Open & Look Fine & MP3 Music Files Open & Play Fine

2nd Run:  I Chose:   Wipe: Free Space Only     Security: Complex Overwrite (7 Passes)

Process again Completed successfully - Ran Recuva, and was still able to restore ALL of the files perfectly.

Again, All Photos Open & Look Fine & All MP3 Music Files Open and Play Fine

What am I missing here? 

I know that I can now use Recuva to securely delete the files that it was able to find and recover, but why is ccleaner not securely deleting them in the first place, after using both options (entire drive and free space)?

• Moderators